Cybersquatting and FOURNIER.COM

From: Jason Fournier (icedunord@hotmail.com)
Date: Fri Mar 24 2000 - 17:36:19 EST


I was told to post this message to this newsgroup to find a resolution to
this . . .

>----- Original Message -----
>From: Jason Fournier <icedunord@hotmail.com>
>To: <acamber@opensrs.org>
>Sent: Friday, March 24, 2000 12:46 PM
>Subject: Fwd: Re: FOURNIER.COM (OpenSRS Sales Ticket #532)
>
>
Hello,

The domain FOURNIER.COM was registered by Noname.com through your OpenSRS
facility. I had "myinternet.com" monitoring the "on-hold" domain since
October to register it once it was deleted (it was on hold for quite some
time). Myinternet claims to check about once every ten minutes to see if it
is available. It did not have a chance to notice FOURNIER.COM becoming
available, as it was taken by Noname.com very quickly.

It is because of this speed and the fact that it has not been sold that I
believe Noname.com to be cybersquatting the domain. While that is not
explicitly against your Acceptable Usage Policy (AUP), "multiple attempts to
register taken or 'on hold' domains" IS against policy and "requesting a
name more than once every 5 minutes continuously is considered abuse." It
is my believe that Noname.com did both of these things to aquire
FOURNIER.COM, and so I would like to contest it--if it is possible--and
register it with DomainDirect (as I am not a reseller). I would at the very
least like to know how your policy deals with resellers contrevening your
AUP.

Your assistance is greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,
Jason Fournier
Acton, Ontario, Canada.

______________________________________________________
Get Your Private, Free Email at http://www.hotmail.com



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:35:22 EDT