Re: Cybersquatting and FOURNIER.COM

From: bill@daze.net
Date: Fri Mar 24 2000 - 19:51:49 EST


On Fri, 24 Mar 2000, Jason Fournier wrote:

> I was told to post this message to this newsgroup to find a resolution to
> this . . .
>
> >----- Original Message -----
> >From: Jason Fournier <icedunord@hotmail.com>
> >To: <acamber@opensrs.org>
> >Sent: Friday, March 24, 2000 12:46 PM
> >Subject: Fwd: Re: FOURNIER.COM (OpenSRS Sales Ticket #532)
> >
> >
> Hello,
>
> The domain FOURNIER.COM was registered by Noname.com through your OpenSRS
> facility. I had "myinternet.com" monitoring the "on-hold" domain since
> October to register it once it was deleted (it was on hold for quite some
> time). Myinternet claims to check about once every ten minutes to see if it

Which doesn't do much good since the "hold" status is only updated once
every 24 hours or so...

> is available. It did not have a chance to notice FOURNIER.COM becoming
> available, as it was taken by Noname.com very quickly.
>
> It is because of this speed and the fact that it has not been sold that I
> believe Noname.com to be cybersquatting the domain. While that is not
> explicitly against your Acceptable Usage Policy (AUP), "multiple attempts to
> register taken or 'on hold' domains" IS against policy and "requesting a
> name more than once every 5 minutes continuously is considered abuse." It

And your proof of this is? "Oh, this other person registered it before me
so they must have done that" just doesn't cut it.

I'm sure if this was the case, OpenSRS would be able to quickly detect it.

> is my believe that Noname.com did both of these things to aquire
> FOURNIER.COM, and so I would like to contest it--if it is possible--and
> register it with DomainDirect (as I am not a reseller). I would at the very
> least like to know how your policy deals with resellers contrevening your
> AUP.
>
> Your assistance is greatly appreciated.

Please see http://www.icann.org/udrp/udrp-rules-24oct99.htm for details on
how to proceed with your complaint.
 
> Many thanks,
> Jason Fournier
> Acton, Ontario, Canada.
>
> ______________________________________________________
> Get Your Private, Free Email at http://www.hotmail.com
>
>



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:35:22 EDT