This also brings up the issue of RCUs being credited back to a resellers
account if the transfer is not completed because the "Authorized" person
fails to understanding what is going on and does not authorize the transfer.
I really think this situation needs some modification, but I was mistaken, I
guess it is in fact "registrar->TUCOWS.COM INC." and not OpenSRS as the
OpenSRS home pages states. At any rate this whole situation is a bit
confusing for the end user/client.
-----Original Message-----
From: grisha@verio.net [mailto:grisha@verio.net]
Sent: Saturday, April 01, 2000 3:26 PM
To: Edward Unrein
Cc: dev-list@opensrs.org; support@opensrs.net
Subject: Re: Transfer Verification
Funny you should mention this because I was just bitten by this - someone
requested a transfer of a domain that I owned with NSI and I foolishly
followed the link to find out what's going on and ended up actually
aproving the transfer. I've talked to both NSI and OpenSRS, and hopefully
the transfer will not take palce or will be transferred to *my* OpenSRS
account.
There are clearly two problems with this:
1. It mentions approval of transfer to another registrar. It doesn't say
anything about the fact that this may imply transfer of ownership.
2. It doesn't tell you who requested the transfer. Imagine that I submit a
tranfer 2 minutes before you, and you approve it thinking that your're
approving your request while in reality you're signing the rights to your
domain away (to me).
Grisha
On Sat, 1 Apr 2000, Edward Unrein wrote:
> Following is what is sent to verify a domain transfer:
>
> "A request has been received to transfer the domain xxxx.com to the
> registrar
> Tucows. If you would like to approve this transfer, please visit the
> following url and follow the instructions:
>
>
>
https://rr-n1-tor.opensrs.net/~vpop/transfers/index.cgi?id=1JeYv6H0UT&domain
> =xxxx.com
>
> If you do not wish to approve this transfer, simply ignore this message
and
> the request will be cancelled."
>
>
> Doesn't this look a bit odd, clients see that they are transferring to
> "Tucows" with no mention of their reseller, and if that does not confuse
> them enough the page they go to has no mention of Tucows, but displays the
> OpenSRS logo.
>
> I think that this need a bit of cleaning up, maybe provide the a brief
> explanation on the page that XYZ reseller submitted their transfer, and
> either display Tucows or OpenSRS, but not both as isn't it "OpenSRS who is
> fully accredited by ICANN and officially recognized by Network Solutions"
> not Tucows which had nothing to do with the domains transfer.
>
> I think this needs some modifications to acknowledge that a reseller, and
> the resellers name maybe, requested the transfer for the client.
> Additionally either reference OpenSRS or Tucows, I don't understand why
> Tucows is even mentioned, but not both.
>
>
> Anyone else have thoughts or comments on this?
>
>
> Ed Unrein
>
This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:35:27 EDT