Re: Register.com possible fraud?

From: Charles Daminato (chuck@opensrs.org)
Date: Tue Aug 08 2000 - 19:00:05 EDT


It's quite possible that the domain was in arrears and Register.com took
ownership of the domain.

My apologies for cross-posting - I just wanted to ask everyone to not
crosspost back (myself included).

Charles Daminato
OpenSRS Support Manager
chuck@opensrs.org

On Tue, 8 Aug 2000 alex@dayak.com wrote:

>
> Hi All,
>
> I'm in a qualm about this. So I'm cross posting 2 lists. I have a user
> who owns the domain v-ro.com. She had problems with register.com, and
> decided to transfer it to opensrs.org.
> Before she did the transfer, I did a WHOIS on the domain and saw that it
> was in her name and everything was cool. Now, I did a WHOIS today, and the
> information shows REGISTER.COM for everything, including a fake phone
> number.
> What's going on? this looks like fraud...
>
> Alexey Zilber
> DAYAK
> Need to register or transfer a domain?
> www.dayak.com charges only $15/year.
> 40 megs of hosting space? $10!
>



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:35:44 EDT