Re: Please confirm your email for dev-list@opensrs.org

From: Dave Warren (maillist@devilsplayground.net)
Date: Mon Feb 02 2004 - 20:00:04 EST


Personally, I'd love to see some company (OpenSRS, in this case) sue XV.NET
for forging OpenSRS's domain in headers (and/or the SMTP envelope)

That's just me though. Spam costs me enough on a daily basis in terms of
time and bandwidth, and cost shifting the load is unacceptable.

Moreso, anyone willfully forging headers should not be allowed to continue
on the public internet.

-- 
Dave Warren,
 Email Address:  dave.warren@devilsplayground.net
 Cell: (403) 371-3470         Fax: (403) 371-3471
 Toll free: (888) 371-3470 Vonage: (817) 886-0860
 ICQ: 17848192  AIM: devilspgd  Yahoo!: devilspgd
 MSN/PASSPORT:   dave.warren@devilsplayground.net

Lynn W. Taylor wrote: > Unfortunately, it says it's from OpenSRS. That's a real problem. > > On Mon, 2 Feb 2004 16:57:20 -0500 (EST), emil@needguide.com wrote: >> FYI. >> >> I used XV.NET to request confirmation from any sender. XV.NET >> confirm all incoming mails before it will send to my inbox. >> >> This is NOT from dev-list@opensrs.org. >> >> Sorry for inconvenience. >> >> Best regards, >> Emil >> >> www.needguide.com >> >> >>> Of course, 99% of the spam we receive is from addresses mined from >>> the web-based archive of this and other lists. >>> >>> So, pardon me from mentioning andy.block@buscom.net but at least >>> that will now get spidered along with my legit. address and >>> possibly cut down on the garbage. >>> >>> -- Lynn >>> >>> On Mon, 2 Feb 2004 12:31:24 -0800, feedback@webdivisor.com wrote: >>>> Yes it is, it allows OpenSRS to filter our Spam from their mailing >>>> lists... >>>> ----- Original Message ----- >>>> From: "Nicolas Ross" <rossnick-lists@cybercat.ca> >>>> To: <dev-list@opensrs.org> >>>> Sent: Monday, February 02, 2004 11:11 AM >>>> Subject: Fw: Please confirm your email for dev-list@opensrs.org >>>> >>>> >>>>> What's this ? >>>>> >>>>> Is this legitimate ? >>>>>

-- Dave Warren, Email Address: dave.warren@devilsplayground.net Cell: (403) 371-3470 Fax: (403) 371-3471 Toll free: (888) 371-3470 Vonage: (817) 886-0860 ICQ: 17848192 AIM: devilspgd Yahoo!: devilspgd MSN/PASSPORT: dave.warren@devilsplayground.net



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:53 EDT