----- Original Message -----
From: Philippe Landau <lists@A-Z-Internet.com>
To: <discuss-list@opensrs.org>
Sent: Friday, June 02, 2000 1:50 PM
Subject: Tucows silence bad for business (was: "Domain Names Hijacked"news
article
> on Thu, 1 Jun 2000, "Rodney Payne" <opensrs@anthill.com> wrote:
> >Can't opensrs help these people??
>
> The situation is currently at an impasse. The whois record still
> shows the site with the alleged thief, going by the name of Billy Tandoko,
registered as administrative contact, technical contact, zone contact
> and billing contact for the domain.
Check again...
telnet whois.opensrs.net 43
Trying 216.6.59.184...
Connected to whois.opensrs.net.
Escape character is '^]'.
web.net
Registrant:
Web Networks
401 Richmond Street West Suite #384
Toronto, Ontario M5V 3A8
CA
Domain Name: WEB.NET
Administrative Contact:
Contact (DAC3-ORG, NDS Administrative dns-admin@web.net
416-596-0212
Technical Contact:
Contact (DTC5-ORG), DNS Technical dns@web.net
416-596-0296
Billing Contact:
Contact (DAC3-ORG, NDS Administrative dns-admin@web.net
416-596-0212
Record last updated on 1-Jun-2000.
Record expires on 24-May-2001.
Record Created on 26-May-1993.
Domain servers in listed order:
NS.WEB.NET 192.139.37.2
NS2.WEB.NET 192.139.37.4
Connection closed by foreign host.
Network Solutions is still
> waiting to hear back from TUCOWS about what they intend to do
> to correct the fraudulent domain name transfer. TUCOWS did not
> respond to calls from InternetNews for additional details.
> http://www.internetnews.com/bus-news/article/0,2171,3_386441,00.html
>
> not only does Tucows/OpenSRS give NSI an undeserved
> PR-advantage, it is also very disappointing that they
> did not act swiftly and as soon as the events became known.
> Tucows - why ?
>
> kind regards philippe, http://Tita-nic.com/domains/
This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:35:37 EDT