On 02-Jun-00 Magicus Inc. wrote:
>
>
> "The situation is currently at an impasse. The whois record still shows the
> site with the alleged thief, going by the name of Billy Tandoko, registered
> as administrative contact, technical contact, zone contact and billing
> contact for the domain. Network Solutions is still waiting to hear back from
> TUCOWS about what they intend to do to correct the fraudulent domain name
> transfer. TUCOWS did not respond to calls from InternetNews for additional
> details."
>
> I am not sure what, but something needs to be done.
>
>From the web.net web site:
"After days of wrestling with Network Solutions and working with Open SRS
of Tucows (both domain name registrars), Web Networks has re-established
control of our domain name. Late last night, the dedicated staff at Open
SRS - a Canadian domain name registrar - reassigned the IP numbers for
Web Networks back to web.net."
Personally, if there was a perceived delay on OpenSRS' part it was probably
erring on the side of caution, since whatever they did would have de facto
precedent setting implications.
OpenSRS kept their mouths shut and did The Right Thing anyways. Actions
speak louder than words. I will watch with amusement as the airmchair
experts dissect and denigrate this for weeks. Fact is, they cleaned
up somebody else's mess.
My 0.02
-mark
--- |||| mark jeftovic (MJ177) ==== http://stuntpope.cyberpunk.cc/ |||| |||| easyDNS Technologies Inc. ==== http://www.easyDNS.com/ |||| ------------------------------------------------------------------------------ dns hosting / domain registrations / web forwarding / mail forwarding / etc ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:35:37 EDT