RE: Message from Network solutions whois

From: Bill Gerrard (bill@daze.net)
Date: Mon Jun 19 2000 - 16:24:57 EDT


I can't understand why someone whould go to a different company to check on
something. This is sort of like getting a membership at one business then
checking the membership records at another business to see if you have a
membership.

Yes, the registrars that will transparently check another companies WHOIS
are mostly to blame for the confusion. ICANN should set policy that the
*REGISTRY* should provide complete WHOIS information for each registered
domain and each of the *registrars* should need to provide this
information... Since that is not the case, the registrars shouldn't confuse
people by listing other companies "membership info" mixed in with there own.

>
> I registered a domain name through an OpenSRS reseller about two
> weeks ago.
> Today I checked the name using the whois interface for NSI and
> received this
> message.
> ______________________________________________________
> Connection refused: invalid ip addressThe previous information has been
> obtained either directly from the
> registrant or a registrar of the domain name other than Network Solutions.
> Network Solutions, therefore, does not guarantee its accuracy or
> completeness.
>
> Domain not found in remote registrar whois.
>
>
> Whois Server Version 1.1
>
> Domain names in the .com, .net, and .org domains can now be registered
> with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
> for detailed information.
> _______________________________________________________________________
>
> What is causing this. Is it Tucows whois not being open to NSI? Or is it
> NSI being diabolical and trying scare uninformed clients?
>
> Just wondering, I just see this type of thing causing confusion among
> clients when they check their domain on NSI whois and get that message.
>
>



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:35:38 EDT