RE: Fax Scam? "Internet Support Services"

From: genie@magi.net
Date: Fri Sep 07 2001 - 10:51:08 EDT


Is it similar to this scam ?
http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2001/02/morgenstern.htm

cheers
Genie Livingstone
magi inc

> ** Original Subject: RE: Fax Scam? "Internet Support Services"
> ** Original Sender: "WebWiz" <webwiz@atlcon.net>
> ** Original Date: Fri, 07 Sep 2001 08:11:51 -0700

> ** Original Message follows...

>
> I *did* call, just to try and figure out what the heck
> it is they're doing. Got put on hold for a few minutes,
> then cut off. When I called back and went through the
> auto-attended, I landed on the same (the only?) agent's
> desk and he acted like he couldn't hear me.
>
> Weird.
>
> Regards,
> Eric Longman
> Atl-Connect Internet Services
>
> +-------------------------------------------------------+
> | Atl-Connect Internet Services http://www.atlcon.net |
> | 3600 Dallas Hwy Ste 230-288 770 590-0888 |
> | Marietta, GA 30064-1685 support@atlcon.net |
> +-------------------------------------------------------+
>
> ----- Original Message -----From: "Christopher Masto" <chris@netmonger.net>
> To: "WebWiz" <webwiz@atlcon.net>
> Cc: <discuss-list@opensrs.org>
> Sent: Friday, September 07, 2001 10:41 AM
> Subject: Re: Fax Scam? "Internet Support Services"
>
>
> On Fri, Sep 07, 2001 at 09:31:09AM -0400, WebWiz wrote:
> > One of my customers received a fax yesterday that referenced
> > a domain he already owns (it's the .net version of his primary
> > .com). Below is much of the wording. I'm about to call and
> > find out what their angle is, but has anybody bumped into this
> > scam? Thoughts? (The domain name in question, by the way,
> > expires in 11/2002!)
>
> Yes, I got one of these several years ago. I didn't call them.
> --
> Christopher Masto Senior Network Monkey NetMonger
> Communications
> chris@netmonger.net info@netmonger.net
> http://www.netmonger.net
>
> Free yourself, free your machine, free the daemon -- http://www.freebsd.org/
>
>
>

>** --------- End Original Message ----------- **

>

cheers
Genie Livingstone
Magi Inc
511 G 5th Street
San Fernando, CA 91340
818 365 0664
http://www.buildyoursiteonline.com
http://www.eyeondomain.com
http://www.magiinc.com



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:36:41 EDT