Re: Big trouble with .BIZ (maybe)

From: Swerve@swerve.com
Date: Sun Nov 04 2001 - 21:03:37 EST


Hi Rick,

Any idea of the latest status on dup'd. .biz name submissions that are
frozen right now?

tx,

Swerve

> From: " Rick Baraniuk" <rbaraniuk@sympatico.ca>
> Reply-To: <rbaraniuk@sympatico.ca>
> Date: Sun, 4 Nov 2001 20:14:21 -0500
> To: "'ST'" <st@kru.org>, <discuss-list@opensrs.org>
> Subject: RE: Big trouble with .BIZ (maybe)
>
> For the record re: this issue - I am already discussing this with NeuLevel
> in hopes that it will be ironed out very soon. In the meantime, if anyone
> has any similar experiences, please email rbaraniuk@tucows.com offline with
> the list of domains that are affected. ST - please provide me with the list
> of 18 domains.
>
> Thanks
>
> Rick
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org
> [mailto:owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org]On Behalf Of ST
> Sent: Sunday, November 04, 2001 5:11 AM
> To: discuss-list@opensrs.org
> Subject: Big trouble with .BIZ (maybe)
>
>
> I posted a message last week about my personal .biz domains showing the
> wrong contact info in the WhoIs. Well, I just checked the WhoIs on all
> 178 domains that were successfully registered through my account. A
> total of 18 domains had the wrong contact info, belonging to 7 different
> customers (including me). In all cases, if one domain name has the wrong
> info, all of that customers names have the same wrong info. However, in
> each case, the DNS info is correct. I've checked the original orders in
> the RWI, and the contact info is correct.
>
> Wait! It gets worse. Here's the really scary thing. Some of the contact
> info that is there leads me to think that these names were not unique.
> For instance, one of the domains that has the wrong contact info is a
> real estate related domain. The WhoIs info shows the domain registered
> to a woman in Canada. I went to the domain that her email was based on,
> and it was a service that specializes in making websites for real estate
> firms and marketing them. So it would make sense that this person had
> actually applied for that same domain as my customer.
>
> In another case, the domain deals with email lists, I think. Once again,
> I went to the domain that the admin contacts e-mail is based on, and
> it's a cheesy internet marketing webpage.
>
> Hopefully it's just a coincidence, and it's just a matter of NeuLevel
> straightening out their WhoIs.
>
> ST
>
>



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:36:49 EDT