buydomains.com and other spammers

From: Paul Chvostek (paul@it.ca)
Date: Tue Dec 04 2001 - 02:47:48 EST


I regularly receive solicitations from buydomains.com that pose as a
"friendly reminder" that various domain names are up for renewal and can
be transferred for a low fee of yadda yadda. They recommend a registrar
transfer and try to sell hosting services as part of the package.

I'm pretty sure I recall somebody mention ICANN policy stating that
whois information could not be used for spamming. But I continue to see
email, sent to admin contact addresses, each containing a domain name
and its expiry date, all with the subject "Domain Expiration Notice".

Is there some hazy shifty paragraph in an ICANN document somewhere that
permits this sort of junk mail in the spirit of "free enterprise" or
some such nonsense, or is buydomains.com the newest addition to my
sendmail access file?

Has anybody already prepared a list of domains to block in order to
avoid customer confusion? I'm currently blocking:

        dotinfocentral.com
        newdomainfactory.com
        nsi-direct.com
        newregistrydomains.com
        dirtcheapdomain.com
        netsitesforfree.com
        mysprintfast.com

but if somebody else has a more complete list, I'd love to get my hands
on it....

Tnx.

-- 
  Paul Chvostek                                             <paul@it.ca>
  Operations / Development / Abuse / Whatever       vox: +1 416 598-0000
  IT Canada                                            http://www.it.ca/



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:36:53 EDT