Re: buydomains.com and other spammers

From: William X Walsh (william@userfriendly.com)
Date: Tue Dec 04 2001 - 03:12:26 EST


Monday, Monday, December 03, 2001, 11:47:48 PM, Paul Chvostek wrote:

> I regularly receive solicitations from buydomains.com that pose as a
> "friendly reminder" that various domain names are up for renewal and can
> be transferred for a low fee of yadda yadda. They recommend a registrar
> transfer and try to sell hosting services as part of the package.

> I'm pretty sure I recall somebody mention ICANN policy stating that
> whois information could not be used for spamming. But I continue to see
> email, sent to admin contact addresses, each containing a domain name
> and its expiry date, all with the subject "Domain Expiration Notice".

> Is there some hazy shifty paragraph in an ICANN document somewhere that
> permits this sort of junk mail in the spirit of "free enterprise" or

More like there is no way for ICANN to enforce anything in this
regard.

-- 
Best regards,
William X Walsh <william@userfriendly.com>
--
Webcertificates.info
SSL Certificates for resellers from $49ea



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:36:53 EDT