We always can always remove the block temporarily. Meanwhile we block
everyone who spams, registrars included.
As for not letting your ISP make your decisions. That is why they make
chocolate and vanilla. You can use whatever ISP you desire.
Regards,
Lars Hindsley
SpyProductions
Achieve Web Success
http://www.spyproductions.com
vox: 302.369.3060 fax: 302.369.6040
-----------------------------------
-----Original Message-----
From: owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org
[mailto:owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org]On Behalf Of Chuck Hatcher
Sent: Tuesday, December 04, 2001 7:02 AM
To: Paul Chvostek; discuss-list@opensrs.org
Subject: Re: buydomains.com and other spammers
I understand your frustration with the spam, and the confusion it causes.
But the thought of blocking email sent from other registrars to your
customers leaves me wondering what would happen if one of your customers has
a domain name registered with one of the spammers, and fails to receive
renewal notices because of the blocking. Could you be held liable for their
loss of the domain?
Marginally on-topic anecdote:
Several years ago I had domains hosted with Tabnet and Hiway Technologies,
two large hosting companies (both of whom have since been swallowed by
Verio). I was having trouble getting email sent from a domain hosted at
Tabnet to a domain hosted at Hiway. While Hiway support worked on the
problem, it came to light that Hiway was blocking email sent from all IP's
managed by Tabnet (I think around 100,000 domains!) because some sites
hosted there had been known to spam. I ended up escalating the problem, and
eventually was contacted by Scott Adams who told me he had repeatedly tried
to contact Tabnet about the problem, but *never received any response*. I
asked him if he didn't think maybe he wasn't receiving their replies because
his company was blocking them? I don't think he realized his own email was
being filtered, but sure enough, that turned out to be the case, and my
email began working very quickly. I will never know what other email I
never received, or who did not receive mine, because of intentional
blocking. Personally I would rather deal with spam myself than have my ISP
deciding what email I can receive.
----- Original Message -----
From: "Paul Chvostek" <paul@it.ca>
To: <discuss-list@opensrs.org>
Sent: Tuesday, December 04, 2001 2:47 AM
Subject: buydomains.com and other spammers
>
> I regularly receive solicitations from buydomains.com that pose as a
> "friendly reminder" that various domain names are up for renewal and can
> be transferred for a low fee of yadda yadda. They recommend a registrar
> transfer and try to sell hosting services as part of the package.
>
> I'm pretty sure I recall somebody mention ICANN policy stating that
> whois information could not be used for spamming. But I continue to see
> email, sent to admin contact addresses, each containing a domain name
> and its expiry date, all with the subject "Domain Expiration Notice".
>
> Is there some hazy shifty paragraph in an ICANN document somewhere that
> permits this sort of junk mail in the spirit of "free enterprise" or
> some such nonsense, or is buydomains.com the newest addition to my
> sendmail access file?
>
> Has anybody already prepared a list of domains to block in order to
> avoid customer confusion? I'm currently blocking:
>
> dotinfocentral.com
> newdomainfactory.com
> nsi-direct.com
> newregistrydomains.com
> dirtcheapdomain.com
> netsitesforfree.com
> mysprintfast.com
>
> but if somebody else has a more complete list, I'd love to get my hands
> on it....
>
> Tnx.
>
> --
> Paul Chvostek <paul@it.ca>
> Operations / Development / Abuse / Whatever vox: +1 416 598-0000
> IT Canada http://www.it.ca/
This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:36:53 EDT