Re: More Renewal Scams

From: avb@korax.net
Date: Sat Apr 20 2002 - 02:41:41 EDT


Mark,

Since you were a Register.com reseller at one point, is it not possible
that this is simply a case of outdated information in their database, and
they're sending the same standard renewal reminder that they send to all
of their resellers' customers, exactly like OpenSRS sends reminders to our
customers on our behalf? The text of their email certainly suggests this.

Has the domain in question actually been moved to another registrar, or
it still with Register.com?

-- 
Alex Bulan <avb@korax.net>
Technical Operations Manager
Korax Inc.

On Fri, 19 Apr 2002, Mark Petersen wrote:

> That topic will be addressed. Rest assured. > -Mark > ----- Original Message ----- > From: David Dorey > To: Mark Petersen > Cc: discuss-list@opensrs.org > Sent: Friday, April 19, 2002 3:24 PM > Subject: Re: More Renewal Scams > > > They are using your trading name in an 'adverts' in a way that implies they are you. Sue them, (if US law allows people who have been blatantly scammed like this to sue) if the same thing happened in the UK there would be a no contest issue. > > Hmm maybe that is why such a small percentage of the scam related issues are UK or Euro related. Seems to me that US mega corps only wanna pick on folks they know will sue in US courts. If I were you, I would think about starting a $120 UK limited company and do all your legal stuff here. Lot cheaper and more scary for a big corp. > ----- Original Message ----- > From: Mark Petersen > To: discuss-list@opensrs.org > Sent: Friday, April 19, 2002 4:48 AM > Subject: More Renewal Scams > > > Hi All, > FYI, I've posted a couple more renewal scam emails that were sent out by RCOM. > These are really pushing the ethics envelope. One of them doesn't openly use any business > name in it *but* mine. Nowhere in the text of the email does it say "Register.Com", even > though they are obviously the sender. Nice, huh? > As usual, feel free to borrow whatever you like to inform your own users. > http://www.planet-nic.com/scams_email.asp > Regards, > -Mark > > Mark Petersen mark@planet-nic.com > Planet Nic http://www.planet-nic.com >



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:09 EDT