Re: FTC fines OpenSRS reseller $375,000

From: Alex Brecher (opensrslist@successfulhosting.com)
Date: Fri Apr 26 2002 - 11:01:20 EDT


If I am not mistaken they were Enom resellers.

Best Regards,

Alex Brecher

Visit us at http://www.Successfulhosting.com
We'll make your web site a success!

Register your own domain name for only $14.99 at
http://DiscountDomainRegistry.com

*****PLEASE DO NOT DELETE ANY PART OF THIS MESSAGE WHEN REPLYING*****
----- Original Message -----
From: "Charles Daminato" <chuck@tucows.com>
To: <genie@magi.net>; <discuss-list@opensrs.com>
Sent: Friday, April 26, 2002 9:22 AM
Subject: RE: FTC fines OpenSRS reseller $375,000

> Where does it say that this is an OpenSRS reseller?
>
> Charles Daminato
> OpenSRS Product Manager
> Tucows Inc. - chuck@tucows.com
>
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org
> > [mailto:owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org]On Behalf Of Genie Livingstone
> > Sent: April 25, 2002 10:59 PM
> > To: discuss-list@opensrs.com
> > Subject: FTC fines OpenSRS reseller $375,000
> >
> >
> > http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2002/04/morgenstern.htm
> >
> > One of my contacts just sent me this link with the following comentary
> > QUOTE
> > It's literally pennies on the dollar, but they did finally reach a
> > settlement.
> > If it were up to me, the guy would be swingin' from the highest yardarm
> > in
> > Halifax, but instead he gets to keep the great majority of his money and
> > pay
> > back a pittance.
> > The FTC is getting $350,000 to redress consumers, and $25,000 to
> > administrate it, for a total of $375,000. The scam itself put somewhere
> > in
> > the neighborhood of $2,000,000 in Mr. Morganstern's pockets.
> > So I guess crime really does pay. All I can hope for is that Darren J.
> > Morganstern spent the remaining money on lawyers, and will have to take
> > a
> > job, as Bob Rivers would say, "folding shirts at the Gap, 'cause at
> > least
> > then you'll have clothin'." If he starts another Internet venture, I
> > hope
> > the government will be watching him like a hawk, 'cause once a crook,
> > always
> > a crook.
> > But I bet he's driving away from the settlement talks in a Lexus or
> > Porsche,
> > with a big smile on his face and a fat wallet.
> > UNQUOTE
> >
> > (my contact is an attorney (nice attorney) and unfortunately I agree
> > with his commentary!)
> >
> > for those of you who do not recall the case, check out our
> > http://www.electronicdomainnamemonitoring.com
> > for FTC case details
> >
> > we were unlucky enough to own this domain using it for expired domain
> > name
> > monitoring services but got swamped by hundreds of consumers thinking we
> > are EDNM, so we did not have much choice but to get really proactive to
> > assure we are not associated with infamous EDNM
> >
> > We kept in touch with the FTC Attorney in charge of the case as we were
> > getting numerous inquiries from consumers who could not - and cannot -
> > manage their domain to this date, those consumers are reporting to us
> > that
> > they have no response on the phone number published on the site or
> > emails they send to them
> >
> > // see email recieved TODAY//
> > QUOTE
> > ----- Original Message -----
> > From: c******, k********
> > To: 'genie@magi.net'
> > Sent: Thursday, April 25, 2002 10:45 AM
> > Subject: Domain Names registered through EDNM
> > I would like information and assistance pertaining to three domain names
> > that we registered through EDNM.
> > b***********.net
> > b**********.org
> > b**********************.com
> > I would like to transfer the hosting provider on
> > b************************.com as soon as possible; therefore I need to
> > access the account. And I would like to figure out what to do with the
> > other two so that I can access them when need be.
> > Thanks,
> > ****PROTECTED***PRIVACY****
> > UNQUOTE
> > //
> >
> > One really interesting thing is - there are buch of very same or similar
> > domain notices circulating as we speek - I have several dozen to prove
> > it, either there are copy cats out there or go figure....
> >
> > Cheers
> > Genie
> > eyeondomain.com
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
>
>



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:10 EDT