Re: Renewal Scam Data Source - Shared database

From: Oleg Chebotarev (chebotarev@yahoo.com)
Date: Thu May 02 2002 - 13:03:51 EDT


Answer is: Shared database.
Well I was silent on this but Domain Registry of America went... so I
called them. And found it very interesting to know. Pleae read the
whole message so you'll understand what they actualy doing.
We have received 4 (four) "Renew -PAY- your domain with us or something
BAD will happen". It is the same domain with different TLDs registered
at different times at OpenSRS. What is more interesting that my
assistant was going to pay them. She got impression that we are default
on this payment and if they don't get paid immideately we will have a
huge problem. It became quite clear that if our staff is being misled
by those notices than how we could expect our customers, who really
feel that they (OUR CUSTOMERS) will lose something if they would not
pay money to Domain Registry of America, will pay you to renew their
domains.
I called Domain Registry of America. I need to note that they even did
not bother to see any web sites for the domains. All of them have
information on how long we have been registering domains. Domain
Registry of America were going to kindergarden when we started.
Anyway I spoke with service rep. on the phone:
Q: I have received a bill to pay for my domain name registration. What
is that?
A: It is not a bill. It is just to let you know how to pay us.
Q: Why do I need to pay you?
A: If you don't want to pay we will delete your domain at the
expiration date.
Q: Are you telling me that we registered our domains with your company?
A: It does not matter. You can pay us if you want to continue using
your domains.
Q: In fact it matters. I know for sure that we did not registered
domains with your company. HOW you got our address and other
information ?
A: We as a few otherr rergisrars herre rrenewing domains. You were in
the database. It is your choice to PAY US or we will delete yor domain.
Q: WHAT DATABASE???
A: All domain rregistrrarrs have database of domains.
Q: Are you telling me that we registerd your domins with your company?
A: It does not matter where you registered yourrr domains.
ALL DOMAIN REGISTRARS HAVE A SHARED DATABASE. SO WE GOT YOUR
INFORMATION FROM THERE.
Q: I dont want to be in your database, PLEASE delete any records you
have about me and our domains.
A: We could not delete it, I TOLD you it is A SHARED DATABASE all
registrars can use it to renew your domain. But if you would not pay us
we will delete your domains and your record will be deleted
automaticly.
Q: Could you give me please legal contact information of your company?
A: I don't know My superrrvisorr is on a meting he will be tomporrow.
Y want to speak to him you can call us back at this phone number.
-----
Next day "the superrrvisorr" was on a meeting probably in Pakistan
since
he was unavalible for two days. Then he went to have a lunch - probably
in India since he was not avalible more than two days.
It is quite clear that they use OpenSRS whois to abtain information
"to allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission of mass
unsolicited, commercial advertising or solicitations via direct mail,
electronic mail, or by telephone; (2) in contravention of any
applicable data and privacy protection laws; or (3) to enable high
volume, automated, electronic processes that apply to the registry"
I was not clear how they could delete my domains if I renewed them at
OSRS. But yesterdays posts about domin transfer can give the answer.
THEY won't bother transfering away domains of you customers. They will
simply transfer your domain to them. And all your customer will
continue going to "your" web site and pay "you".
Only you and a few people at OpenSRS will know that they transfered
your domain with out you agrreing to it. Ofcourse you can sue them.
Oleg
--- Doug Friend
--- Doug Friend <doug@register4less.com> wrote:
> As long as we're revisiting this thread, I'd like to add an update.
>
> Some of you may be aware that we posted a site called
> http://domainscams.com to
> cover information regarding the renewal scam being run by Verisign &
> Domain
> Registry of America/Canada. We use this site to point clients to for
> information about the renewal scam.
>
> Well, two days ago, we received a domain expiry notice for,
> domainscams.com!
>
> Included within this package from the folks at Verisign is a postage
> paid
> envelope. We've added a 300 dpi scan of the envelope to
> domainscams.com.
>
> Toner's cheap...
>
> Doug.
>
> Quoting "Winston D. Neutel" <winston@winston.org>:
>
> > Dave Warren wrote:
> > >
> > > This thread is old, sorry for dragging it up again.
> >
> > But as long as we are . . .
> >
> > I just discovered this and I didn't see a mention of it in the
> archives:
> >
> >
> > The USPS has a handy online form to report mail fraud
> > http://www.usps.gov/postalinspectors/fraud/MailFraudComplaint.htm
> >
> >

__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Health - your guide to health and wellness
http://health.yahoo.com



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:13 EDT