Hi Oleg,
It's pretty clear this "shared database" is not a central database, but the
registrar held whois records. The expiry notice we received for
http://domainscams.com from Verisign had contact information that was valid when
we registered the domain, but this had been changed quite some time ago. So if
Verisign did pull the info from the whois record, that lookup happened many
months ago.
It's also interesting to see the whois records for domains that are with now
with ENOM due to a DRoA slam.
Their terms of access for the whois record prohibit _exactly_ in what practice
DRoA is engaging...
Edited whois record from a domain slammed by DRoA:
Registration Service Provided By: Domain Registry of America
Contact: service@droamerica.com
Visit: http://www.droa.com
<snip>
Admin and technical contact, no name or email address provided.
</snip>
Technical Contact:
NA
Support, Registration (support@register4less.com)
(877) 807 0076
398 Keroack
St. Bruno, QC J3V 5S1
St. Bruno, QC J3V 5S1
CA
Status: PROTECTED
Note: To help prevent malicious domain hijacking and domain
transfer errors, the registrar has protected the registrant
of this domain name registrant by locking it. Any attempted
transfers will be denied at the registry until the registrant
requests otherwise. The registrant for the name may unlock
the name at any time at the current registrar in order for
a transfer initiation to succeed
The data in this whois database is provided to you for information
purposes only, that is, to assist you in obtaining information about or
related to a domain name registration record. We make this information
available "as is," and do not guarantee its accuracy. By submitting a
whois query, you agree that you will use this data only for lawful
purposes and that, under no circumstances will you use this data to: (1)
enable high volume, automated, electronic processes that stress or load
this whois database system providing you this information; or (2) allow,
enable, or otherwise support the transmission of mass unsolicited,
commercial advertising or solicitations via direct mail, electronic
mail, or by telephone. The compilation, repackaging, dissemination or
other use of this data is expressly prohibited without prior written
consent from us. We reserve the right to modify these terms at any
time. By submitting this query, you agree to abide by these terms.
Version 6.3 4/3/2002
Quoting Oleg Chebotarev <chebotarev@yahoo.com>:
> Answer is: Shared database.
> Well I was silent on this but Domain Registry of America went... so I
> called them. And found it very interesting to know. Pleae read the
> whole message so you'll understand what they actualy doing.
> We have received 4 (four) "Renew -PAY- your domain with us or something
> BAD will happen". It is the same domain with different TLDs registered
> at different times at OpenSRS. What is more interesting that my
> assistant was going to pay them. She got impression that we are default
> on this payment and if they don't get paid immideately we will have a
> huge problem. It became quite clear that if our staff is being misled
> by those notices than how we could expect our customers, who really
> feel that they (OUR CUSTOMERS) will lose something if they would not
> pay money to Domain Registry of America, will pay you to renew their
> domains.
> I called Domain Registry of America. I need to note that they even did
> not bother to see any web sites for the domains. All of them have
> information on how long we have been registering domains. Domain
> Registry of America were going to kindergarden when we started.
> Anyway I spoke with service rep. on the phone:
> Q: I have received a bill to pay for my domain name registration. What
> is that?
> A: It is not a bill. It is just to let you know how to pay us.
> Q: Why do I need to pay you?
> A: If you don't want to pay we will delete your domain at the
> expiration date.
> Q: Are you telling me that we registered our domains with your company?
> A: It does not matter. You can pay us if you want to continue using
> your domains.
> Q: In fact it matters. I know for sure that we did not registered
> domains with your company. HOW you got our address and other
> information ?
> A: We as a few otherr rergisrars herre rrenewing domains. You were in
> the database. It is your choice to PAY US or we will delete yor domain.
> Q: WHAT DATABASE???
> A: All domain rregistrrarrs have database of domains.
> Q: Are you telling me that we registerd your domins with your company?
> A: It does not matter where you registered yourrr domains.
> ALL DOMAIN REGISTRARS HAVE A SHARED DATABASE. SO WE GOT YOUR
> INFORMATION FROM THERE.
> Q: I dont want to be in your database, PLEASE delete any records you
> have about me and our domains.
> A: We could not delete it, I TOLD you it is A SHARED DATABASE all
> registrars can use it to renew your domain. But if you would not pay us
> we will delete your domains and your record will be deleted
> automaticly.
> Q: Could you give me please legal contact information of your company?
> A: I don't know My superrrvisorr is on a meting he will be tomporrow.
> Y want to speak to him you can call us back at this phone number.
> -----
> Next day "the superrrvisorr" was on a meeting probably in Pakistan
> since
> he was unavalible for two days. Then he went to have a lunch - probably
> in India since he was not avalible more than two days.
> It is quite clear that they use OpenSRS whois to abtain information
> "to allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission of mass
> unsolicited, commercial advertising or solicitations via direct mail,
> electronic mail, or by telephone; (2) in contravention of any
> applicable data and privacy protection laws; or (3) to enable high
> volume, automated, electronic processes that apply to the registry"
> I was not clear how they could delete my domains if I renewed them at
> OSRS. But yesterdays posts about domin transfer can give the answer.
> THEY won't bother transfering away domains of you customers. They will
> simply transfer your domain to them. And all your customer will
> continue going to "your" web site and pay "you".
> Only you and a few people at OpenSRS will know that they transfered
> your domain with out you agrreing to it. Ofcourse you can sue them.
> Oleg
> --- Doug Friend
> --- Doug Friend <doug@register4less.com> wrote:
> > As long as we're revisiting this thread, I'd like to add an update.
> >
> > Some of you may be aware that we posted a site called
> > http://domainscams.com to
> > cover information regarding the renewal scam being run by Verisign &
> > Domain
> > Registry of America/Canada. We use this site to point clients to for
> > information about the renewal scam.
> >
> > Well, two days ago, we received a domain expiry notice for,
> > domainscams.com!
> >
> > Included within this package from the folks at Verisign is a postage
> > paid
> > envelope. We've added a 300 dpi scan of the envelope to
> > domainscams.com.
> >
> > Toner's cheap...
> >
> > Doug.
> >
> > Quoting "Winston D. Neutel" <winston@winston.org>:
> >
> > > Dave Warren wrote:
> > > >
> > > > This thread is old, sorry for dragging it up again.
> > >
> > > But as long as we are . . .
> > >
> > > I just discovered this and I didn't see a mention of it in the
> > archives:
> > >
> > >
> > > The USPS has a handy online form to report mail fraud
> > > http://www.usps.gov/postalinspectors/fraud/MailFraudComplaint.htm
> > >
> > >
>
>
> __________________________________________________
> Do You Yahoo!?
> Yahoo! Health - your guide to health and wellness
> http://health.yahoo.com
>
>
This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:13 EDT