Seems to me that if Domain Direct is going to hijack domains, they'd do more
than hijack a single domain from a single RSP. You think maybe you could wait
until you've contacted OpenSRS about this before you go getting yourself into
a tizzy and posting all of these accusations to this list?
Jim
----- Original Message -----
From: <bill@daze.net>
To: <discuss-list@opensrs.org>
Sent: Sunday, June 02, 2002 7:21 PM
Subject: Domain Direct has hijacked a customer's domain
> I am very disappointed to learn that someone at Tucows hasn't been as
> truthful as we all thought they were and our darkest fears about Tucows
> Domain Direct are starting to come true. We have been told over and over
> that Domain Direct is completely separate from the Tucows registrar
> business and has the exact same access to the registry and registrar as
> any other RSP. Well, it has now been proven to me that this is not the
> case. Domain Direct does have the ability to directly access the registry
> outside of the RSP scope of access. Domain Direct has hijacked a domain
> from our RSP account (they have changed the name servers directly at the
> registry). The OpenSRS RWI does not reflect these changes. Logging in to
> manage.cgi the domain and the changes do not show there as well. Domain
> Direct has gone "behind the back" of Tucows Registrar and made the changes
> to this domain name with out any authorization.
>
> Some details about this domain (from the OpenSRS RWI):
>
> 28 May 2000 - Domain originally registered (I do not know where)
> 24 Apr 2002 - Domain successfully transferred to our RSP account from Domain
Direct
> 02 Jun 2002 - The registrant reports that their domain now resolves to a
> Domain Direct page that says in part "has been suspended by Domain Direct
> Administration. If you are the owner of this domain, please contact
> help@domaindirect.com to have your domain reinstated." with a big Domain
> Direct logo and a Tucows copyright.
>
> The name server change appears to have taken place after the registry
> published their whois at Sun, 2 Jun 2002 16:48:44 EDT today since it still
> shows the correct information. Tucows WHOIS for the domain still shows
> the correct information. As mentioned previously, manage.cgi still shows
> the correct information.
>
> The authoritive name servers at Verisign registry however now list as
> follows for this domain name:
>
> nameserver = ns1.domaindirect.com
> nameserver = ns2.domaindirect.com
> nameserver = ns3.domaindirect.com
>
> Tucows needs to immediately fix this problem and provide an acceptable
> explanation as to why this happened and why Domain Direct is given
> preferential treatment and power above all other RSPs while we are all
> told otherwise. I really DO NOT want to see Tucows turn into another
> Verisign.
>
> A private e-mail will be sent to Tucows with the appropriate domain name
> as the registrant would like to remain somewhat private.
This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:17 EDT