Re: Register.Com sending letters now???!!!

From: Mark Petersen (mark@planet-nic.com)
Date: Mon Jun 03 2002 - 14:10:36 EDT


Obviously from the WHOIS.
It's easy when you're a registrar, and already have local access to the database.
-Mark
  ----- Original Message -----
  From: Charles Edmunds
  To: discuss-list@opensrs.org
  Sent: Monday, June 03, 2002 10:36 AM
  Subject: RE: Register.Com sending letters now???!!!

  If a client is lured into transfering to Register.com. Verisign, Domain Registry of America, etc...

  Do we have to allow the transfer to go through? I mean is there a way that we can block the domains from being transfered out of our account and into theirs? I think this would put a big damper on their solicitation for new customers.

  Secondly, where are these companies getting this information? I would really like to know so that I may contact them and inform them to take me and my clients off of these sold lists. This is bull$#!*

  Thanks,

  C. Edmunds
    -----Original Message-----
    From: owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org [mailto:owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org]On Behalf Of Mike Allen
    Sent: Monday, June 03, 2002 12:03 PM
    To: discuss-list@opensrs.org
    Subject: Register.Com sending letters now???!!!

    I had a call a few days ago from a client telling me that he received a renewal letter from Register.Com - However, I told him not to worry about it and to ignore it as I thought it was some kind of error. But, it seems Register.Com is following the footsteps of the VeriSign idiots.... I am going to post this renewal form on our site in the next 20 minutes or so...(Just in case no one has seen it yet and would like to)

    --
    Mike Allen, 4CheapDomains.Net
    discusslist@4CheapDomains.Net
    http://www.4CheapDomains.Net
    (812) 275-8425 - Office
    (815) 364-1278 - Fax



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:17 EDT