Me too.
I was hit with 3 of them, for three different domain names, that were also
only registered through OpenSRS only 1 year ago.
This is definetly a load of crap.
This is not right that Register.com can have access to this information and
the rest of us can't. I really think that if they are sending letters to
our customers and us, that we should have the right to solicit their
customers back. Can Tucows help us out with this one?
Please advise.
C. Edmunds
-----Original Message-----
From: owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org
[mailto:owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org]On Behalf Of Mike Allen
Sent: Monday, June 03, 2002 4:12 PM
To: discuss-list@opensrs.org
Subject: Re: Register.Com sending letters now???!!!
I have NEVER had a domain with them, and the one I posted and I am talking
about is one of my domains. I got it through OpenSRS a few years ago and it
has stayed with OpenSRS since then.... So, that can't be the case..... If
someone at Register.Com told you that, then they are lying through their
teeth.
--
Mike Allen, 4CheapDomains.Net
discusslist@4CheapDomains.Net
http://www.4CheapDomains.Net
(812) 275-8425 - Office
(815) 364-1278 - Fax
----- Original Message -----
From: Chris Scott
To: discuss-list@opensrs.org
Sent: Monday, June 03, 2002 1:22 PM
Subject: RE: Register.Com sending letters now???!!!
In the case of Register.com, it looks like they are soliciting previous
customers. We received a notice the other day from them that listed about
ten domains that were originally registered through them but since
transferred to OpenSRS. I didn't think it was worth the effort to check,
but I'm assuming their TOS and/or privacy policy state that they can
continue to market to you after you are no longer a customer unless you
explicitly tell them not to--again, just a guess.
At least in this case, the notice states renewal and transfer at least
twice on the front page in normal type, IIRC.
Chris
-----Original Message-----
From: owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org
[mailto:owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org]On Behalf Of Charles Edmunds
Sent: Monday, June 03, 2002 1:37 PM
To: discuss-list@opensrs.org
Subject: RE: Register.Com sending letters now???!!!
If a client is lured into transfering to Register.com. Verisign,
Domain Registry of America, etc...
Do we have to allow the transfer to go through? I mean is there a way
that we can block the domains from being transfered out of our account and
into theirs? I think this would put a big damper on their solicitation for
new customers.
Secondly, where are these companies getting this information? I would
really like to know so that I may contact them and inform them to take me
and my clients off of these sold lists. This is bull$#!*
Thanks,
C. Edmunds
-----Original Message-----
From: owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org
[mailto:owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org]On Behalf Of Mike Allen
Sent: Monday, June 03, 2002 12:03 PM
To: discuss-list@opensrs.org
Subject: Register.Com sending letters now???!!!
I had a call a few days ago from a client telling me that he
received a renewal letter from Register.Com - However, I told him not to
worry about it and to ignore it as I thought it was some kind of error. But,
it seems Register.Com is following the footsteps of the VeriSign idiots....
I am going to post this renewal form on our site in the next 20 minutes or
so...(Just in case no one has seen it yet and would like to)
--
Mike Allen, 4CheapDomains.Net
discusslist@4CheapDomains.Net
http://www.4CheapDomains.Net
(812) 275-8425 - Office
(815) 364-1278 - Fax
This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:17 EDT