As a follow up to my last e-mail. Soliciting their customers is not the
answer. The proper way to do this is for ICANN to get on the ball and start
taking punitive action to companies preying on customer's lack of
understanding of the registry system. I've heard stories where people
respond to the Verisign spam and junk mail just because they think that for
some reason Verisign has them over a barrel and that they really will lose
their names if they don't pay. It truly is a load of crap.
Regardless, to do the same thing is both prohibitively expensive and as
slimy has having it done to us...JUST SAY NO!
-bryanw
-----Original Message-----
From: owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org
[mailto:owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org]On Behalf Of Charles Edmunds
Sent: Monday, June 03, 2002 1:50 PM
To: Mike Allen; discuss-list@opensrs.org
Subject: RE: Register.Com sending letters now???!!!
Me too.
I was hit with 3 of them, for three different domain names, that were also
only registered through OpenSRS only 1 year ago.
This is definetly a load of crap.
This is not right that Register.com can have access to this information
and the rest of us can't. I really think that if they are sending letters
to our customers and us, that we should have the right to solicit their
customers back. Can Tucows help us out with this one?
Please advise.
C. Edmunds
-----Original Message-----
From: owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org
[mailto:owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org]On Behalf Of Mike Allen
Sent: Monday, June 03, 2002 4:12 PM
To: discuss-list@opensrs.org
Subject: Re: Register.Com sending letters now???!!!
I have NEVER had a domain with them, and the one I posted and I am
talking about is one of my domains. I got it through OpenSRS a few years ago
and it has stayed with OpenSRS since then.... So, that can't be the
case..... If someone at Register.Com told you that, then they are lying
through their teeth.
--
Mike Allen, 4CheapDomains.Net
discusslist@4CheapDomains.Net
http://www.4CheapDomains.Net
(812) 275-8425 - Office
(815) 364-1278 - Fax
----- Original Message -----
From: Chris Scott
To: discuss-list@opensrs.org
Sent: Monday, June 03, 2002 1:22 PM
Subject: RE: Register.Com sending letters now???!!!
In the case of Register.com, it looks like they are soliciting
previous customers. We received a notice the other day from them that
listed about ten domains that were originally registered through them but
since transferred to OpenSRS. I didn't think it was worth the effort to
check, but I'm assuming their TOS and/or privacy policy state that they can
continue to market to you after you are no longer a customer unless you
explicitly tell them not to--again, just a guess.
At least in this case, the notice states renewal and transfer at least
twice on the front page in normal type, IIRC.
Chris
-----Original Message-----
From: owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org
[mailto:owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org]On Behalf Of Charles Edmunds
Sent: Monday, June 03, 2002 1:37 PM
To: discuss-list@opensrs.org
Subject: RE: Register.Com sending letters now???!!!
If a client is lured into transfering to Register.com. Verisign,
Domain Registry of America, etc...
Do we have to allow the transfer to go through? I mean is there a
way that we can block the domains from being transfered out of our account
and into theirs? I think this would put a big damper on their solicitation
for new customers.
Secondly, where are these companies getting this information? I
would really like to know so that I may contact them and inform them to take
me and my clients off of these sold lists. This is bull$#!*
Thanks,
C. Edmunds
-----Original Message-----
From: owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org
[mailto:owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org]On Behalf Of Mike Allen
Sent: Monday, June 03, 2002 12:03 PM
To: discuss-list@opensrs.org
Subject: Register.Com sending letters now???!!!
I had a call a few days ago from a client telling me that he
received a renewal letter from Register.Com - However, I told him not to
worry about it and to ignore it as I thought it was some kind of error. But,
it seems Register.Com is following the footsteps of the VeriSign idiots....
I am going to post this renewal form on our site in the next 20 minutes or
so...(Just in case no one has seen it yet and would like to)
--
Mike Allen, 4CheapDomains.Net
discusslist@4CheapDomains.Net
http://www.4CheapDomains.Net
(812) 275-8425 - Office
(815) 364-1278 - Fax
This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:17 EDT