We recived a couple for the domains that were originaly registered with
OSRS. (and never were transfered anywhere - in case you have this
question).
--- Chris Scott <chris@hostorlando.com> wrote:
> In the case of Register.com, it looks like they are soliciting
> previous
> customers. We received a notice the other day from them that listed
> about
> ten domains that were originally registered through them but since
> transferred to OpenSRS. I didn't think it was worth the effort to
> check,
> but I'm assuming their TOS and/or privacy policy state that they can
> continue to market to you after you are no longer a customer unless
> you
> explicitly tell them not to--again, just a guess.
>
> At least in this case, the notice states renewal and transfer at
> least twice
> on the front page in normal type, IIRC.
>
> Chris
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org
> [mailto:owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org]On Behalf Of Charles Edmunds
> Sent: Monday, June 03, 2002 1:37 PM
> To: discuss-list@opensrs.org
> Subject: RE: Register.Com sending letters now???!!!
>
>
> If a client is lured into transfering to Register.com. Verisign,
> Domain
> Registry of America, etc...
>
> Do we have to allow the transfer to go through? I mean is there a
> way
> that we can block the domains from being transfered out of our
> account and
> into theirs? I think this would put a big damper on their
> solicitation for
> new customers.
>
> Secondly, where are these companies getting this information? I
> would
> really like to know so that I may contact them and inform them to
> take me
> and my clients off of these sold lists. This is bull$#!*
>
> Thanks,
>
> C. Edmunds
> -----Original Message-----
> From: owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org
> [mailto:owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org]On Behalf Of Mike Allen
> Sent: Monday, June 03, 2002 12:03 PM
> To: discuss-list@opensrs.org
> Subject: Register.Com sending letters now???!!!
>
>
> I had a call a few days ago from a client telling me that he
> received a
> renewal letter from Register.Com - However, I told him not to worry
> about
> it and to ignore it as I thought it was some kind of error. But, it
> seems
> Register.Com is following the footsteps of the VeriSign idiots.... I
> am
> going to post this renewal form on our site in the next 20 minutes or
> so...(Just in case no one has seen it yet and would like to)
>
>
> --
> Mike Allen, 4CheapDomains.Net
> discusslist@4CheapDomains.Net
> http://www.4CheapDomains.Net
> (812) 275-8425 - Office
> (815) 364-1278 - Fax
>
>
>
__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Yahoo! - Official partner of 2002 FIFA World Cup
http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com
This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:17 EDT