Re: Please confirm your message

From: Oleg Chebotarev (chebotarev@yahoo.com)
Date: Wed Jun 05 2002 - 22:35:45 EDT


Did anyone seen this before?
--- bryanw@abwaters.com wrote:
> Your e-mail message with the subject of "RE: Register.Com sending
> letters now???!!!"
> is being held because your address was not recognized.
>
> To release your message for delivery, please send an empty message
> to the following address, or use your mailer's "Reply" feature.
>
> bryanw-confirm-accept.1023329743.11172.a94853@abwaters.com
>
> This confirmation verifies that your message is legitimate and not
> junk-mail.
>
> [ This notice was generated by TMDA/0.54 (http://tmda.sf.net/),
> an automated junk-mail reduction system. ]
>
> --- Enclosed is a copy of your message.
>
> From chebotarev@yahoo.com Thu Jun 06 02:15:42 2002
 
> Date: Wed, 5 Jun 2002 19:16:59 -0700 (PDT)
> From: Oleg Chebotarev <chebotarev@yahoo.com>
> Subject: RE: Register.Com sending letters now???!!!
> To: bill@daze.net, Bryan Waters <bryanw@abwaters.com>
> Cc: Doug McDonald <lists@dougmcdonald.org>,
> "Discuss-List@Opensrs. Org" <discuss-list@opensrs.org>
> In-Reply-To:
> <Pine.BSI.4.20.0206041014560.19676-100000@force.daze.net>
> MIME-Version: 1.0
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
>
> That comes down to the question if they actually bought it.
> If not then OSRS whois prohibits them from sending anything.
>
> --- bill@daze.net wrote:
> >
> > The last time I checked there are some big loop holes that allows
> > anyone
> > to legally mine WHOIS. ICANN says you can only restrict bulk
> > e-mailing to
> > WHOIS contacts. Tele-marketing and postal mail *are* actually
> > allowed. And, if you don't use automated processes to request the
> > WHOIS
> > data you are in compliance there as well.
> >
> > > I guess I have to ask then...do you really think they don't use
> the
> > zone
> > > files to mine whois?
> >
> > > Zone files won't help you with the particulars. You would still
> > need to get
> > > the whois information. Doing it on your own for commercial
> purposes
> > would be
> > > whois mining and could open you up to legal ramifications. Of
> > course, IANAL.
> >
>
>
> __________________________________________________
> Do You Yahoo!?
> Yahoo! - Official partner of 2002 FIFA World Cup
> http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com

__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Yahoo! - Official partner of 2002 FIFA World Cup
http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:17 EDT