Bill is correct in saying that all of these should be reported and Chris,
your specific situation would be be well dealt with by reporting using the
online tool referenced earlier. It would give you a verifiable chain in case
the data does not get updated. Make sure you report it with the ancillary
details.
Elliot Noss
Tucows inc.
> -----Original Message-----
> From: owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org
> [mailto:owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org]On Behalf Of Chris Scott
> Sent: Wednesday, September 04, 2002 2:00 PM
> To: owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org
> Cc: discuss-list@opensrs.org
> Subject: Re: Notice of Verisign's Breach of ICANN Registrar
> Accreditation Agreement
>
>
> Hi Bill,
>
> Wednesday, September 4, 2002, 1:12:00 PM, you wrote:
>
> >> On a side note, if people haven't seen Verisign being slapped about for
> >> inaccurate WHOIS:
> >>
> >>
> http://www.icann.org/correspondence/touton-letter-to-beckwith-03sep02.htm
>
> bdn> It's about time.
>
> bdn> I see several mentions of "no.valid.email@worldnic.com"
>
> bdn> I know there are thousands of domains using this. I suggest
> we all report
> bdn> all of the ones we find to ICANN to keep fuel on the fire.
>
> Just a note of caution here since it is the domain owners who may get the
> shaft in the end. I have been working with one of our customers
> to transfer
> their domain to us from Verisign. They have a WHOIS email that shows the
> no.valid.email@worldnic.com. The problem is that when they log
> in to their
> Verisign account, the email information is correct but it is not updating
> the WHOIS. I'd hate to see the domain owners somehow caught up
> in this when
> some of them may be trying to do the right thing.
>
> Some may guess the reason they do this is to prevent transfers away since
> there is no valid email address for the admin contact for the gaining
> registrar to send the transfer authorization to.
>
> --
> Chris Scott
> Host Orlando, Inc.
> http://www.hostorlando.com/
>
This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:27 EDT