RE: Another domain scam -- Domain Support Group

From: Mitchell Krog (mitchell@krognetix.com)
Date: Wed Nov 13 2002 - 19:05:29 EST


As Eric so nicely put it ... Scum is probably the best word to describe
these low life companies who only ruin the industry for the rest of us.
They give reason for customers to be weary of hosting and domain
registering companies. I find it amazing to what levels companies will
stoop just to stay in business.

It's a damn shame into todays business world, no industry excluded, that
ethics have been thrown out the window by so many. And there are so many
more that could not even spell the word ethics even if they tried.

But as this is a discussion list, what can we all do to stop companies
like this from continuing their little escapades of stealing customers
away. Anyone have any ideas ? I know the Internet Registry of Canada
(http://strategis.ic.gc.ca/SSG/ct02442e.html) was recently charged by
the Competition board for running their own misleading scam on .ca
domain names .... what are other countries, registrars and the like
going to do to stop the ROT !!

Mitch

-----Original Message-----
From: owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org
[mailto:owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org] On Behalf Of Eric Prigge
Sent: November 13, 2002 1:58 PM
To: discuss-list@opensrs.org
Subject: Re: Another domain scam -- Domain Support Group

I've seen that one. One of the scumier scams out there.

Speaking of scum, Domain Registry of America is a real peice of work. I
don't know how many of my customers have unwittingly been pulled away by
them. When you transfer, they automatically change your domain servers
to theirs so any hosting you had setup fails. And once they've
transferred them away they lock the domain so that it cannot be
transferred back! AND, they don't allow you to unlock the domain in
their web management tool (its the only thing you can't do there). You
have to call their customer service for this and it takes them 24 hours
to unlock it!

Eric

----- Original Message -----
From: "Lou Brazee" <lou@AllLaw.com>
To: <discuss-list@opensrs.org>
Sent: Wednesday, November 13, 2002 1:04 PM
Subject: Another domain scam -- Domain Support Group

>
> Has anyone else had customers receiving an "Urgent Notice of Domain
> Extension" for domains from Domain Support Group.
> (www.domainsupportgroup.net)
>
> The domain that Domain Support Group is sending the notice about is
> the
.us
> version of the registrant's domain. Ie. mydomain.com owner receives a

> notice about mydomain.us which he doesn't own. (and no one has ever
> owned)
>
> The notice says "Please be advised that the above domain name has now
become
> available for registration. Consequently the possibility of
> conflicting domain name registrations may occur."
>
> While this isn't the usual renewal scam, it did put a scare into a
customer
> that didn't fully understand what they were selling (mydomain.us). At

> the bottom the notice says: "This domain may be registered by any
> third party without further notice. Accordingly promptly advise us of
> your intent to (a) secure this domain or
> (b) release your first right to use preference. Call Toll Free
> (1).877.802.5649
>
> Lou
>
>
>



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:31 EDT