Re: Another domain scam -- Domain Support Group

From: Mike Allen (discusslist@4cheapdomains.net)
Date: Thu Nov 14 2002 - 03:01:27 EST


We get their faxes all the time (Every day)

--
Mike Allen, 4CheapDomains.Net
discusslist@4CheapDomains.Net
http://www.4CheapDomains.Net
Need Advertising? Try DeerSearch.Com http://www.DeerSearch.com
----- Original Message -----
From: "Lou Brazee" <lou@AllLaw.com>
To: <discuss-list@opensrs.org>
Sent: Wednesday, November 13, 2002 4:04 PM
Subject: Another domain scam -- Domain Support Group

> > Has anyone else had customers receiving an "Urgent Notice of Domain > Extension" for domains from Domain Support Group. > (www.domainsupportgroup.net) > > The domain that Domain Support Group is sending the notice about is the .us > version of the registrant's domain. Ie. mydomain.com owner receives a > notice about mydomain.us which he doesn't own. (and no one has ever owned) > > The notice says "Please be advised that the above domain name has now become > available for registration. Consequently the possibility of conflicting > domain name registrations may occur." > > While this isn't the usual renewal scam, it did put a scare into a customer > that didn't fully understand what they were selling (mydomain.us). At the > bottom the notice says: > "This domain may be registered by any third party without further notice. > Accordingly promptly advise us of your intent to (a) secure this domain or > (b) release your first right to use preference. Call Toll Free > (1).877.802.5649 > > Lou > > >



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:31 EDT