Re: internic.ca ?

From: Mark Jeftovic (markjr@easydns.com)
Date: Sat Dec 07 2002 - 19:14:25 EST


Nope. No policy because (the logic goes), registrars who really want
to spam will work around any policy.

While it is against the CIRA accreditation agreement to harvest the
.CA whois database, there are even ways around that. (Shell company
harvests database, sells it to "marketing partner" of Registrar X,
who sends out an email blast. Everything is arm's length and Registrar
plays stupid if they get called out onto the carpet over it ("Uh, we
bought a bad list")

The address we got hit at came out of the .com/net/org whois.

-mark

On Sat, 7 Dec 2002, Swerve wrote:

> Good that you replied, since you are on the Cira board.
>
> Does Cira have a policy in place to penalize .Ca registrars that spam?
> (is internic.ca a registrar?)
>
> tx,
>
> Swerve
>
> > From: Mark Jeftovic <markjr@easydns.com>
> > Date: Sat, 7 Dec 2002 19:07:26 -0500 (EST)
> > To: Swerve <swerve@swerve.com>
> > Cc: opensrs discuss <discuss-list@opensrs.org>
> > Subject: Re: internic.ca ?
> >
> >
> > Yeah, we got it to an address straight out of whois.
> >
> > On Sat, 7 Dec 2002, Swerve wrote:
> >
> >> Are other folks being spammed by them?
> >> i am.
> >>
> >> Swerve
> >>
> >
> > --
> > mark jeftovic
> > http://www.easydns.com
> > http://mark.jeftovic.net
> >
>

-- 
mark jeftovic
http://www.easydns.com
http://mark.jeftovic.net



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:32 EDT