Re: SpamCop

From: Genie Livingstone (genie@magi.net)
Date: Thu Mar 06 2003 - 20:40:45 EST


At least one Registrar on this list
http://www.polarbeach.com/topics/Registrars.htm - (it is one of those
who has 0 spams this month....) is now taking proactive approach to
squashing spammers

We had a customer who registered his domain though that registrar in
February and 5 days later called us that he cannot manage his domain, we
could not manage it either.... after short investigation we have been
told by the Registrar this domain was placed on registrar-lock due to
excessive reports of spam

The owner of the domain is a newbie who fell pray to the 49.95 CD
offering 10,000,000 of email addys -do it yourself spam campaign

This was a first time we have witnessed a Registrar taking proactive
role in enforcing this part of their registration agreement

==
Breach and Revocation:

....reserves the right to suspend, cancel, transfer or modify your
domain name registration or suspend, cancel or modify other services we
provide in the event .........(b) you use the domain name registered to
you to send unsolicited commercial advertisements in contradiction to
either applicable laws or customary acceptable usage policies of the
Internet, (c) you use your domain name in connection with unlawful
activity, ......
==

It is being done and it was effective, the domain owner phoned the legal
department and got his domain reinstated in about 4 days.

We are quite fond of this new practice of this particular Registrar. As
a reseller and published contact on a whois lookup we do receive a
sizeable amount of mail from angry internet users when a domain owner
under our umbrella of domains uses it for spam. We have no authority to
suspend the domain and essentially cannot help the folks who complain to
us they have been spammed by a domain where we appear as one of the
contacts. So when a Registrar takes the bull by the horns, we are
really happy campers!

I would love to see Tucows take similar steps ... what is your opinion?

cheers
Genie

On Behalf Of Ross Wm. Rader Sent: Thursday, March 06, 2003 6:20 PM
> To: list-opensrs@serv.ch; 'OpenSRS Discuss List'

> > And btw Tucows is still number #2 in providing spamvertized
> > domains: http://www.polarbeach.com/topics/Registrars.htm, but
> > the spammers are now moving to Joker because they also
> > provide bulletproof dns...
>
> ...and Tucows is number two in total domains as well. The stats are
> remarkable for Jan - Mar. when you consider that Joker has a tiny
> fraction of the domains that we do...we're getting better and
"spammers
> per capita" is waay down in comparison to most in similar boats...



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:40 EDT