RE: [OS] Spammer mining WHOIS

From: Elliot Noss (enoss@tucows.com)
Date: Thu May 08 2003 - 09:04:42 EDT


The apple doesn't fall far from the tree. Enom has been spamming our
resellers for years to email addresses only used on this list or in
connection with whois. I have brought this to their attention on a number of
occasions.

Regards

Elliot Noss
Tucows inc.
416-538-5494

> -----Original Message-----
> From: owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org
> [mailto:owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org]On Behalf Of Ashish Pawaskar
> Sent: Thursday, May 08, 2003 3:27 AM
> To: discuss-list@opensrs.org
> Subject: Re: [OS] Spammer mining WHOIS
>
>
> I would also like to point out that I have received the exact spam
> from another enom reseller "dotname.com", does enom have tools for
> their resellers to spam the competition??
>
> FWIW, most clients haven't fallen for the scam but incase they do
> reply to be removed, etc. Then the pitching starts, the only thing
> that the try to sell is eNom's realtime DNS management tool. :(
>
> ==================================
>
> Dear Sir,
>
> The following domain registered by you will expire soon.
>
> Expiry dt: 11-May-03
>
> DOMAIN NAME - XXXXX.com
>
> An early confirmation and payment from your end will renew your
> domain with eNom.
> After the renewal of the domain you will have full control over
> the domain and will be
> able to make changes on your own. A Certificate of domain
> validation shall be sent to
> you. Domains can be renewed for a period between 1-10 yrs.
>
> Please note that once domains expire, they enter a common pool
> and ANYBODY can
> register them.
>
> Domain Renewal Price
> 4 Years Rs.3000/-
> 5 Years Rs.3500/-
> 10 Years Rs.6500/-
>
> These rates are valid only for unexpired domains and the all
> contacts being held by
> you. Domains may attract a service charge once they expire or the
> admin contact is not
> in your control. Domains on registry hold now attract a charge of
> upto US$150 for
> reactivation.
>
> CONFIRM NOW TO PROTECT YOUR DOMAIN. CALL US ON:
>
> Tel +91 22 26396433/ 26300138/ 26300139/ 26318216
> Fax +91 22 26311820
>
>
> Regards,
>
> Mahesh Malik
> B-304 Florida
> Y-11 Shastri Nagar
> Lokhandwala Complex
> Andheri (west)
> Mumbai - 400053
> India
> Tel +91 22 26396433/ 26300138/ 26300139/ 26318216
> Fax +91 22 26311820
> Mobile: +91 9820028209
>
>
>
> --
> Best regards,
> Ashish Pawaskar
>
> *********************************************************************
> Internet Wizards - http://www.inwiz.com
> *********************************************************************
>
> Thursday, May 8, 2003, 12:16:26 AM, bill@daze.net wrote:
>
> bdn> We always have a few bait domains that we only renew for one
> year and wait
> bdn> until the last minute to renew to see what kind of renewal
> spam/scams we
> bdn> receive.
>
> bdn> Attached is yesterday's bite. Why am I not surprised that
> the registrar
> bdn> for ideacommune.com and dnrenew.com is ENOM?
>
> bdn> And just out of curiosity, has anyone had customers fall for
> any of these
> bdn> *e-mailed* spam scam renewal notices? Just wondering how
> many average
> bdn> domain registrants are willing to do business with spammers...
>



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:43 EDT