Right, my mistake. He/She host their own dns, in China. Still, they
are obviously mining the whois data, which is a clear violation of
several contracts one is required to agree to before registering a domain.
Just saying they are not register is not enough. They had to go through
a reseller. Laws have to be enforced. If you are doing something about
it fine. If not then you are complacent and enabling "Mel Goudie" and
his/her ilk.
~jb
R. Peter Ejtel wrote:
>Just a clarification for all.
>
>This organization is NOT a reseller of Tucows OpenSRS, but merely a
>registrant.
>
>Tucows does not believe that it is within the purview of its rights and
>responsibilities as a registrar to make the unilateral decision to delete a
>domain name if we do not approve of the content of a particular site. Please
>be assured that we do our best to respect the rights and privacy of our
>registrants while trying to balance our responsibilities as a registrar and
>a citizen of the Internet world. In some instances, this means that we
>cooperate fully with law enforcement agencies investigating the activities
>of our customers.
>
>As a general rule, when we receive a complaint regarding the content of a
>site, we recommend you contact those responsible for the DNS and Hosting for
>the domain as these parties typically allow themselves the contractual right
>to police for content.
>
>We particularly regret the association that has been made between Tucows and
>the registrant for this particular domain as we suspect there may be a tie
>to an ex-reseller where we terminated our relationship due to differences of
>opinion with their business model.
>
>Thanks,
>
>Peter Ejtel
>Sales Manager
>Tucows Inc.
>sales@opensrs.org
>
>
>
>-----Original Message-----
>From: owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org
>[mailto:owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org]On Behalf Of JB
>Sent: Monday, July 14, 2003 2:08 PM
>To: Robert L Mathews
>Cc: discuss-list@opensrs.org
>Subject: Re: Another Renewal Scam: domain-renewal.biz
>
>
>These scamers have been operating for awhile now. They are a tucows
>client, this mean they have bought the contact list for the .biz domains
>or have broken their license agreement. Since I have received spam from
>them for .biz domains registered at different registrars, I'm guessing
>they have mined the whois data illegally.
>
>I doubt tucows could do much even if they wanted to.
>
>~jb
>
>Robert L Mathews wrote:
>
>
>
>>We've seen another renewal scam being sent to our customers in the last
>>couple of days. It's targeted at .biz owners, sent via spam e-mail to the
>>WHOIS contact.
>>
>>Here's a sample:
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>>Dear Registrant,
>>>
>>>Your domain EXAMPLE.BIZ is due for renewal shortly. If you wish to
>>>renew your domain name please see our web site:
>>>
>>>http://www.domain-renewal.biz
>>>
>>>IMPORTANT: FAILURE TO RENEW YOUR DOMAIN BEFORE ITS EXPIRY DATE
>>>WILL RESULT IN LOSS OF SERVICE.
>>>
>>>Registration Fees:
>>>
>>>2 Years - $30/year
>>>3-5 Years - $22/year
>>>6-10 Years - $19/Year
>>>
>>>All costs are US Dollars. Should you have any questions on renewing
>>>your domain please fill out our online contact form.
>>>
>>>.BIZ Renewal
>>>http://www.domain-renewal.biz
>>>
>>>----------------------------------
>>>If you no longer wish to receive domain renewal notifications
>>>via email see http://www.domain-renewal.biz/notifications.htm
>>>This email was sent to example@example.com
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>There's no mention in the e-mail, or on the site, that "renewing" your
>>domain name with them is actually a transfer.
>>
>>People who "renew" with them might get a few surprises. For example, they
>>don't even have a control panel that you can use to update the
>>nameservers... this feature is "coming soon"(!). They're also using
>>servers hosted in China in an attempt to avoid anti-spam restrictions,
>>and they don't accept support requests by phone.
>>
>>By the way, domain-renewal.biz is registered through TUCOWS; I don't know
>>if they're a TUCOWS reseller or not. Perhaps compliance can do something
>>about this...?
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>
>
>
>
>
This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:45 EDT