Re: Another Renewal Scam: domain-renewal.biz

From: Russ Goodwin (rglists@x23.com)
Date: Mon Jul 14 2003 - 17:38:22 EDT


Perhaps if we could figure out who they use to register domains, we could
petition Neustar to revoke their right to register .biz domains?

-Russ

At 04:43 PM 7/14/2003, JB wrote:
>Right, my mistake. He/She host their own dns, in China. Still, they are
>obviously mining the whois data, which is a clear violation of several
>contracts one is required to agree to before registering a domain.
>
>Just saying they are not register is not enough. They had to go through a
>reseller. Laws have to be enforced. If you are doing something about it
>fine. If not then you are complacent and enabling "Mel Goudie" and his/her ilk.
>
>~jb
>
>
>R. Peter Ejtel wrote:
>
>>Just a clarification for all.
>>
>>This organization is NOT a reseller of Tucows OpenSRS, but merely a
>>registrant.
>>
>>Tucows does not believe that it is within the purview of its rights and
>>responsibilities as a registrar to make the unilateral decision to delete a
>>domain name if we do not approve of the content of a particular site. Please
>>be assured that we do our best to respect the rights and privacy of our
>>registrants while trying to balance our responsibilities as a registrar and
>>a citizen of the Internet world. In some instances, this means that we
>>cooperate fully with law enforcement agencies investigating the activities
>>of our customers.
>>
>>As a general rule, when we receive a complaint regarding the content of a
>>site, we recommend you contact those responsible for the DNS and Hosting for
>>the domain as these parties typically allow themselves the contractual right
>>to police for content.
>>
>>We particularly regret the association that has been made between Tucows and
>>the registrant for this particular domain as we suspect there may be a tie
>>to an ex-reseller where we terminated our relationship due to differences of
>>opinion with their business model.
>>
>>Thanks,
>>
>>Peter Ejtel
>>Sales Manager
>>Tucows Inc.
>>sales@opensrs.org
>>
>>
>>
>>-----Original Message-----
>>From: owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org
>>[mailto:owner-discuss-list@opensrs.org]On Behalf Of JB
>>Sent: Monday, July 14, 2003 2:08 PM
>>To: Robert L Mathews
>>Cc: discuss-list@opensrs.org
>>Subject: Re: Another Renewal Scam: domain-renewal.biz
>>
>>
>>These scamers have been operating for awhile now. They are a tucows
>>client, this mean they have bought the contact list for the .biz domains
>>or have broken their license agreement. Since I have received spam from
>>them for .biz domains registered at different registrars, I'm guessing
>>they have mined the whois data illegally.
>>
>>I doubt tucows could do much even if they wanted to.
>>
>>~jb
>>
>>Robert L Mathews wrote:
>>
>>
>>
>>>We've seen another renewal scam being sent to our customers in the last
>>>couple of days. It's targeted at .biz owners, sent via spam e-mail to the
>>>WHOIS contact.
>>>
>>>Here's a sample:
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>>Dear Registrant,
>>>>
>>>>Your domain EXAMPLE.BIZ is due for renewal shortly. If you wish to
>>>>renew your domain name please see our web site:
>>>>
>>>>http://www.domain-renewal.biz
>>>>
>>>>IMPORTANT: FAILURE TO RENEW YOUR DOMAIN BEFORE ITS EXPIRY DATE
>>>>WILL RESULT IN LOSS OF SERVICE.
>>>>
>>>>Registration Fees:
>>>>
>>>>2 Years - $30/year
>>>>3-5 Years - $22/year
>>>>6-10 Years - $19/Year
>>>>
>>>>All costs are US Dollars. Should you have any questions on renewing
>>>>your domain please fill out our online contact form.
>>>>
>>>>.BIZ Renewal
>>>>http://www.domain-renewal.biz
>>>>
>>>>----------------------------------
>>>>If you no longer wish to receive domain renewal notifications
>>>>via email see http://www.domain-renewal.biz/notifications.htm
>>>>This email was sent to example@example.com
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>There's no mention in the e-mail, or on the site, that "renewing" your
>>>domain name with them is actually a transfer.
>>>
>>>People who "renew" with them might get a few surprises. For example, they
>>>don't even have a control panel that you can use to update the
>>>nameservers... this feature is "coming soon"(!). They're also using
>>>servers hosted in China in an attempt to avoid anti-spam restrictions,
>>>and they don't accept support requests by phone.
>>>
>>>By the way, domain-renewal.biz is registered through TUCOWS; I don't know
>>>if they're a TUCOWS reseller or not. Perhaps compliance can do something
>>>about this...?
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>
>>
>>
>



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:45 EDT