Re: Verisign squatting on RGP, Pending Delete, and ACTIVE names!

From: J. Vogel (jvogel@kansasnetworks.com)
Date: Mon Sep 15 2003 - 18:32:34 EDT


I sincerely hope that those filing the lawsuits don't forget to include
as defendents the BUYERS of the stolen traffic from Verisign.

John
----- Original Message -----
From: "George Kirikos" <gkirikos@yahoo.com>
To: <ga@dnso.org>; <vinton.g.cerf@mci.com>
Cc: <discuss-list@opensrs.org>
Sent: Monday, September 15, 2003 3:10 PM
Subject: Verisign squatting on RGP, Pending Delete, and ACTIVE names!

> Hi,
>
> Not only is Verisign squatting on all unregistered domains, via their
> wildcarding, they are also going after PENDING DELETE, RGP, and ACTIVE
> domains with no nameservers.
>
> eg. http://www.a2u.net is being redirected to
>
> http://sitefinder.verisign.com/lpc?url=www.a2u.net&host=www.a2u.net
>
> to make them $$$$$ via Pay-Per-Click.
>
> Checking the Registry WHOIS for that one:
>
> 09/15/03 15:55:58 whois a2u.net@whois.internic.net
>
> whois -h whois.internic.net a2u.net ...
>
> Domain Name: A2U.NET
> Registrar: GO DADDY SOFTWARE, INC.
> Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com
> Referral URL: http://registrar.godaddy.com
> Name Server: NS3.MXDNS.COM
> Name Server: NS4.MXDNS.COM
> Status: REDEMPTIONPERIOD
> Updated Date: 04-sep-2003
> Creation Date: 29-aug-2002
> Expiration Date: 29-aug-2003
>
> >>> Last update of whois database: Mon, 15 Sep 2003 06:25:09 EDT <<<
>
> Now, let's find a domain name that is ACTIVE. Taking a look at the
> WHOIS for 0c.net:
>
> 09/15/03 16:02:15 whois 0c.net
> .net is a domain of Network services
> Searches for .net can be run at http://www.crsnic.net/
>
> whois -h whois.crsnic.net 0c.net ...
> Redirecting to ALICES REGISTRY, INC.
>
> whois -h whois.ar.com 0c.net ...
>
> RW-Whois: v0.9
>
> Registrant:
> Buildable Ltd.
> Harold Whiting
> box 2177
> Santa Barbara, CA 93120
> US
>
> Domain Name: 0C.NET
> Status:
>
> Administrative Contact:
> Buildable Ltd. webmaster@buildable.com
> Harold Whiting
> box 2177
> Santa Barbara, CA 93120
> US
> 805-886-4164
>
> Billing Contact:
> Buildable Ltd. webmaster@buildable.com
> Harold Whiting
> box 2177
> Santa Barbara, CA 93120
> US
> 805-886-4164
>
> Technical Contact:
> Buildable Ltd. webmaster@buildable.com
> Harold Whiting
> box 2177
> Santa Barbara, CA 93120
> US
> 805-886-4164
>
> Record created on 10-Jun-2003
> Record expires on 10-Jun-2004
>
> Domain servers in listed order:
>
> It doesn't expire until 2004. Even the Registry WHOIS validates this:
>
> 09/15/03 16:04:18 whois 0c.net@whois.internic.net
>
> whois -h whois.internic.net 0c.net ...
>
> Whois Server Version 1.3
>
> Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
> with many different competing registrars. Go to
http://www.internic.net
> for detailed information.
>
> Domain Name: 0C.NET
> Registrar: ALICES REGISTRY, INC.
> Whois Server: whois.ar.com
> Referral URL: http://www.ar.com
> Name Server: No nameserver
> Status: ACTIVE
> Updated Date: 10-jun-2003
> Creation Date: 10-jun-2003
> Expiration Date: 10-jun-2004
>
>
> >>> Last update of whois database: Mon, 15 Sep 2003 06:25:09 EDT <<<
>
> Yet, Verisign Registry has no qualms about resolving:
>
> http://www.0c.net/ to go to:
>
> http://sitefinder.verisign.com/lpc?url=www.0c.net&host=www.0c.net
>
> Who needs John Zuccarini, when you have Verisign!?!?!?! Looks like
> Verisign has proven once and for all that the ICANN Board is full of
> spineless jellyfish, and needs to be replaced with the ITU.
>
> At least with the ITU, we don't have paid jingles appearing when we
> misdial a telephone number.
>
> Disgusted,
>
> George Kirikos
> http://www.kirikos.com/
>



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:47 EDT