Re: Time to sue Verisign.

From: Hostmaster (hostmaster@wmis.net)
Date: Tue Sep 16 2003 - 11:02:51 EDT


They've hijacked a legitimate domain on one of our customers who did their
own registration at REGISTER.COM and put one of the name servers wrong.

One is correct --- but that doesn't seem to matter --- they're toileting the
entire domain to their little web page.

----- Original Message -----
From: "Marc Storck" <marc@storck.org>
To: <discuss-list@opensrs.org>
Sent: Tuesday, September 16, 2003 8:59 AM
Subject: Re: Time to sue Verisign.

> at least something we can do! ;-)))
>
> Perhaps a configure option in Bind
>
> options {
> sitefinder.verisign.com-IPs { 1.2.3.4; 2.3.4.5; };
> };
>
> ;-)))))
>
> CU
>
> Marc
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "Mark Jeftovic" <markjr@easydns.com>
> To: "Swerve" <Swerve@swerve.com>
> Cc: "Dave Warren" <maillist@devilsplayground.net>;
> <discuss-list@opensrs.org>
> Sent: Tuesday, September 16, 2003 2:28 PM
> Subject: Re: Time to sue Verisign.
>
>
> >
> > I believe many ISPs are null-routing the IP Verisign is using.
Nameserver
> > software developers are patching their products to sub in NXDOMAIN for
> > that IP (pdns is working on it, there's been talk of a bind patch)
> >
> > -mark
> >
> > On Mon, 15 Sep 2003, Swerve wrote:
> >
> > > btw,
> > >
> > > i am no longer able to access Verisign's "new service".
> > >
> > > seeing the old "specified server not found"
> > > message is a sight for sore eyes.
> > >
> > > Swerve
> > >
> > >
> > > At 7:00 PM -0600 9/15/03, Dave Warren wrote:
> > > >George Kirikos wrote:
> > > >> Hello,
> > > >>
> > > >> I think Coke might be first in line. See what Verisign picks when
> you
> > > >> go to:
> > > >>
> > > >> http://www.pepsi-or-coke.net/
> > > >>
> > > >> They suggest only Pepsi!!
> > > >>
> > > >> Brought to you by Verisign -- the choice you don't have for the
next
> > > >> generation....
> > > >
> > > >Now imagine when some news media gets ahold of the fact (and
> misrepresents)
> > > >that "major companies <insert name of any company using this for
> > > >advertising>" are running advertising on http://kkk-4-ever.net/ and
> > > >http://kill-the-niggars-now.com/ and other similar unregistered
> domains.
> > > >--
> > > >Dave Warren,
> > > > Email Address: dave.warren@devilsplayground.net
> > > > Cell: (403) 371-3470 Fax: (403) 371-3471
> > > > Toll free: (888) 371-3470 Vonage: (817) 886-0860
> > > > ICQ: 17848192 AIM: devilspgd Yahoo!: devilspgd
> > > > MSN/PASSPORT: dave.warren@devilsplayground.net
> > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> > --
> > Mark Jeftovic <markjr@easydns.com>
> > Co-founder, easyDNS Technologies Inc.
> > ph. +1-(416)-535-8672 ext 225
> > fx. +1-(416)-535-0237
>
>
>
>



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:47 EDT