Re: Verisign to Make Money from Typos

From: steve@seasoned-software.com
Date: Thu Sep 18 2003 - 11:18:58 EDT


That isn't correct!!!!! DNS regards EVERYTHING between the http:/ and the
first invalid character as the DNS name. If your dns entry doesn't match,
it doen't count at all. Verisign still has control!

IF a third level domain is SPECIFICALLY provided for, Verisign won't get
it.
A LOT of domain servers do NOT specifically provide for domain.com or www.domain.com.
 This will let verisign get a LOT of references where the second level,
or popular 3rd level domain is CORRECT!!!!!

Of course, you CAN provide for a wildcard 3 level domain. I do on all the
sites I run DNS for. This is *****VERY***** rare though. ALSO, point of
fact.... As of this writing..... opensrs.net does NOT provide for a wildcard
third level domain. Check it out!

Still, there is NO way to provide for mispellings of the second level domain
name unless you buy all of them!

Steve

>-- Original Message --
>Date: Thu, 18 Sep 2003 10:32:03 -0400
>To: Cameron Gregory <cameron@bloke.com>
>Cc: Jeremy Kinsey <jer@mia.net>, discuss <discuss-list@opensrs.org>
>Subject: Re: Verisign to Make Money from Typos
>From: Adrian Daminato <adrian@tucows.com>
>
>
>
>On Fri, Sep 19, 2003 at 12:15:17AM +1000, Cameron Gregory wrote:
>> Sorry if this point was made already, but I didn't notice it.
>>
>> Consider also instead of http://www.opensrss.net (extra s), how
>> about http://wwww.opensrs.net/ (extra w)
>
>The DNS response for wwww.opensrs.net will come from the authoritative
>NS for opensrs.net - there is no way for Verisign to respond incorrectly
>for third (and fourth, etc.) level domains if the NS query gets to the
>2nd level NS servers properly.
>
>nslookup wwww.opensrs.net
>Server: 10.0.0.1
>Address: 10.0.0.1#53
>
>** server can't find wwww.opensrs.net: NXDOMAIN
>
>
>nslookup www.opensrss.net
>Server: 10.0.0.1
>Address: 10.0.0.1#53
>
>Name: www.opensrss.net
>Address: 64.94.110.11
>
>
>
>>
>> looks like my ISP has already blocked things off, so I can't really test
>
>> it. But an article from
>> searchday pointed this out.
>>
>> grr....
>>
>> I have trademarks , and somesubdomain.mytrademark.com going to verisign
>
>> seems pretty wrong to me.
>>
>> Cameron
>>
>> Jeremy Kinsey wrote:
>>
>> >
>> >On Monday, September 15, 2003, at 04:19 PM, Swerve wrote:
>> >
>> >>>Time for my once in 3 years discuss list post.
>> >>>
>> >>>
>> >>>How is it against the UDRP?.. What exactly are you going to WIPO?
>> >>>The name doesn't exist!! It's an IP attorneys wet dream at that layer.
>> >>
>> >>
>> >>
>> >>Good to hear from ya 3 years later.
>> >>
>> >>
>> >>If it's a misspelling of an existing domain, then it "exists", as the
>
>> >>viewer was trying to get to
>> >>Opensrs.Net
>> >>
>> >>but typed in Opensrsss.Net
>> >>cause they threw up on their keyboard when they heard about
>> >>Verisign's dirty scummy tactics, which caused their keyboard to
>> >>occasionally repeattt.
>> >>
>> >>Benefiting from misspelled domains has been proven to be bad faith

>> >>domain purchasing. Revising the whole fucking registry system to
>> >>suit Verisign's commercial needs is Wrong and likely illegal.
>> >>
>> >>C'mon Icann, pull the switch, make the phone calls, ...
>> >> Shut Verisign Out of running the .com/.net registries.
>> >>
>> >>
>> >
>> >There are other problems.. Try doing and NSlookup or try resolving
>> >other issues that are network related from the command line to only

>> >end up at verisigns IP. Not good.. Time for Verisign to go the way
of
>
>> >the fishes.
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> >Regards,
>> >Jeremy Anthony Kinsey
>> > e-mail: jer@mia.net
>> >________________________________________________________
>> >Bella Mia, Inc. www.mia.net
>> >401 Host Drive www.dslone.com
>> >Lake Geneva, WI. 53147 www.hostdrive.com
>> >Phone: (262)248-6759 www.bella-mia.com
>> >Fax: (262)248-6959 www.thednsplace.com
>>
>>
>> --
>> I got a *lot* of email, please include previous messages in reply,
>> so I can follow the thread (and to ensure that you bypass my spam filter!)
>>
>> thanks,
>>
>> Cameron
>>
>> ---------------------------
>> Cameron Gregory
>> http://www.flamingtext.com/
>>
>>
>
>--
>Adrian Daminato
>Senior Systems Administrator, Tucows Inc.
>
>"Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away."
> - Philip K. Dick



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:47 EDT