Re: Block Verisign's domain

From: Jeremy Kinsey (jer@mia.net)
Date: Thu Sep 18 2003 - 11:36:41 EDT


On Thursday, September 18, 2003, at 10:07 AM, Adam Selene wrote:

> In addition to blocking the IP address (64.94.110.11), why not block
> the entire
> versign.com domain as well?
>
> i.e. add versign.com to your DNS zone with no records other than SOA.
>
> Seems like a perfectly appropriate response to me.

Thought about it, but my goal is to circumvent their manipulation of
the internet, not keep my current customers from being able to manage a
legit domain that they may have already had for years with VeriSign.
>
> I do not see any technical problems in doing so. (com/net zones are at
> gtld-servers.net, and whois is at internic.net, I don't see anything
> critical at
> versign.com).

I did this with "versign.com" only, why, for testing purposes and it
is a misspelling of verisign, which ironically verisign owns..
>
> Just claim the site violates your company's policies (you have no
> contractual
> obligation
> to provide service to any given domain name, many places block
> pornography
> domains and spammers in a similar manner).
>
>

We do that with DROA, but that is another story... There are actually
legit people with legit domain using Verisign that may have domains
registered there dating back to the InterNIC days. Blocking them
entirely is going to disrupt more innocent consumers.

Regards,
Jeremy Anthony Kinsey
  e-mail: jer@mia.net
________________________________________________________
Bella Mia, Inc. www.mia.net
401 Host Drive www.dslone.com
Lake Geneva, WI. 53147 www.hostdrive.com
Phone: (262)248-6759 www.bella-mia.com
Fax: (262)248-6959 www.thednsplace.com



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:47 EDT