Re: another transfer+renew scam (INC)

From: Russ Goodwin (rglists@x23.com)
Date: Wed Oct 01 2003 - 22:50:44 EDT


Yes, we got faxes from them (several). I went to track them down planning
to invoke the junk fax laws, but gave up when I found they were in CA (area
code 905), beyond any small-claims longarm statute I know of.

-Russ

At 07:51 PM 10/1/2003, W.C. Martin wrote:
>There appears to be a new competitor to DROC/DROA in the
>Toronto area who is trying to persuade domain owners into
>transferring their domains in order to renew them. So far
>we've only seen their solicitations come in via fax.
>They're doing a fairly good job of hiding their identity,
>but not good enough.
>
>Using the very little information provided in the fax form
>(specifically a telephone number) and the power of Google,
>it was possible to track down the company behind this.
>They appear to be an OpenSRS reseller as well as have an
>affiliation with at least one other registrar.
>
>The top of the fax has the words "INTERNET NOTIFICATION CENTER".
>The actual company behind this appears to be iSupportNet.com.
>They are targetting domains that don't expire for as much
>as six months from now.
>
>Has anyone outside the greater Toronto area been hit by this yet?
>
>Chris Martin
>Catnap Consultants



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:49 EDT