DOTWORLDS FRAUD!!!!!
Warning Internet Users Not To Fall for Internet Scam
Involving the Top-Level Domain .USA and other new domains.
On March, 2002 we were advised that someone in the
United Kingdom was bulk emailing addresses harvested
from newsgroups and web sites as part of a marketing
effort to sell second level domains in the .USA and other top level domain infrastructure.
We are issuing an urgent warning today about a website
that has popped up in recent weeks purporting to be an
exclusive registrar for the ".USA" and other top-level domains.
This company, operated out of England is called
dotworlds.net and has in false claims that they were
authorized to take registrations for domains under
several other TLDs, including ".USA".
"This company is operated by a man named Brian Retkin, who has a habit of "lifting" top-level domains from
companies that are already operating them. This is just
his latest adventure". In early March, Dotworlds
launched a website purporting to be the "only place to
register a .USA domain". This is untrue. Additionally,
a large volume of unsolicited email, known as SPAM has
dumped into the email boxes of thousands of internet
users inviting them to register a .USA domain for "only
$35". Dotworlds.net appears to be attempting to
capitalizing on the September 11 tragedy to enhance the
success of the scam.
We have started preparing legal action against Retkin
and dotworlds.net and have notified authorities about
the website.
Billing records show that Dotworlds operate a merchant
account through clearing agents Worldpay
(www.worldpay.com) through natwest bank and hsbc bank. Request a refund from
fraud@worldpay.com and their bank fraud@natwest.co.uk and fraud@hsbc.co.uk. Contact your credit card company
and refer the security and fraud investigator to The
Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers
(ICANN).
ICANN is a contractor to the United States Department
of Commerce and is mandated with the administration of
the U.S. domain name system. ICANN will assist your
credit cards fraud and investigation department in
establishing that dotworlds is not the exclusive
registrar for any of the top level domains claimed by
them.
Report them today:
http://www.ripofftipoff.net/notify.htm
http://www.oft.gov.uk/default.htm
___________________________________________________
Check-out GO.com
GO get your free GO E-Mail account with expanded storage of 6 MB!
http://mail.go.com
This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:52 EDT