On Jan 7, 2004, at 12:30 AM, Roger B.A. Klorese wrote:
> Jeremy Kinsey wrote:
>
>> Anyone know what this is about?
>> I have a strange customer that keeps demanding that I give him some
>> code so he can transfer his domains to GoDaddy? Here is what they
>> are asking for?
>> "When a .biz, .org, .us or info domain name is first registered, a
>> code is generated for the domain at that point. This is the code that
>> our system is requesting as an authorization code. To obtain this
>> code, please contact your losing registrar, who should be able to
>> help you retrieve this information."
>> I really do not understand what this is about. I assumed that if you
>> wanted to transfer your domain to another registrar, you just
>> transfered it, and approved it with no intervention on the resellers
>> part. I really cannot justify working for free, which is what this
>> equates to. To spend my time helping someone pay someone else money?
>> Perhaps I am missing something or this guy is whacked?
>> Anyone.
>
> First, you're missing months of discussion here.
I do not follow the list on a regular basis as there is rarely a
problem in OpenSRS land :-)
>
> Second, do you allow your users access to manage.opensrs.net? If so,
> then you can tell him the code is to be found there on the "Domain
> Extras" page.
Of course we do.. That is why I am miffed at him and this crap from
GoDaddy support.. I have explained all of this to him, but for some
reason he seems to think there is something I am supposed to email
him...
>
> And, no, actually, transfers often involved the gaining and the losing
> registrar's participation, even before auth codes.
>
>
True, but my participation is typically quite automated.. There is very
rarely any manual intervention on my part save helping those in
redemption, or emailing lost passwords, etc.. But there is no way I can
log into their account without their user/pass and go retrieve the
"auth code".
Thanx..
Regards,
Jeremy Anthony Kinsey
e-mail: jer@mia.net
________________________________________________________
Bella Mia, Inc. www.mia.net
401 Host Drive www.dslone.com
Lake Geneva, WI. 53147 www.hostdrive.com
Phone: (262)248-6759 www.bella-mia.com
Fax: (262)248-6959 www.thednsplace.com
This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:53 EDT