Re: DROA's email: confirm your email address is active

From: Del Landry (dlandry@rrbc.org)
Date: Sun Mar 07 2004 - 22:23:30 EST


Yeah, we're well aware of those DROA 'notices'. I've even talked in detail with this client on the phone quite some time ago about DROA. He says that he's never responded to any of them. Knowing him very well, I'd say that's true.

I was wondering if they are resorting to some new way of suckering-in new business since they've been slapped down by the FTC for sending their deceptive notices.

Is anyone else getting those 'confirm your email address' emailings for no apparent reason?

-Del

>On Sun, 07 Mar 2004 14:14:19 -0800, Michael Dean <michaelldean@sbcglobal.net> wrote:
>
>To: Del Landry <dlandry@rrbc.org>
>Subject: Re: DROA's email: confirm your email address is active
>From: Michael Dean <michaelldean@sbcglobal.net>
>Date: Sun, 07 Mar 2004 14:14:19 -0800
>CC: discuss-list@opensrs.org
>
>Del Landry wrote:
>
>>Does anyone know what this message from DROA to the Admin contact (below) is really about? The good client says that he's never responded to any DROA emailings, snail mailings, etc. This is not one of those domain names that someone would want to try to steal. The message smacks of some funny business by DROA.
>>
>>-Del
>>
>>-----Original Message-----
>>From: Transfer and Renewal Support [mailto:transfers@droa.com]
>>To: blah@blah.com
>>Subject: [blah.com Order #999999] Transfer and Renewal Process
>>
>>
>>To Blah,
>>
>>Thank you for choosing to transfer and renew blah.com with the Domain Registry of America.
>>
>>Your transfer and renewal of blah.com is not yet complete.
>>
>>This email is being sent to verify your email address is still active.
>>
>>We require that you click on the link below to confirm your email address is active.
>>
>>http://confirm.droa.com/agree.asp?o=999999&p=blah
>>
>>You must click on the link above in order to continue the transfer and renewal process.
>>
>>Yours truly
>>Domain Registry of America
>>Toll free 1-866-434-0212 or for International Callers, dial +1(905)479-2533
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>
>I get mayhbee 20-30 snail mail letters from these jerks every year, some
>listing over 50 or more of my domains. This is an unsolicited scam
>letter to try and get people's money at $35 per domain, through a
>transfer. The rake in about 140,000 extra dollars every week from
>unsuspecting naive companies and individuals



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:54 EDT