Re: Blogware spoofing FROM addresses

From: Ross Wm. Rader (ross@tucows.com)
Date: Fri Jun 11 2004 - 10:31:12 EDT


> I could even put up a system status page, hosted off-network (in case
> EVERYTHING is down on my side) and tie it to my email notification
> system. Not impossible to do otherwise, but since a trial account of
> $0.50/weblog/month is more then enough, why the heck not?

$0.50 for the first 30 days, after that they must upgrade to fully a
paid account or get expired.

>
> I left the confirmation on initially just to see what happens and
> emailed a post to my blog. I waited and waited and waited for the
> confirmation, nothing. Weird... Check the mail server, no backlog.
> Happen to look at my incoming spam folder, and what do you know,
> blogware is forging a domain it does not own or host and has never been
> authorized to send from, and as a result my mail server flagged it as spam.
>
> Well isn't that fancy. In today's world even big slow moving behind the
> times .COMs like eBay are in the process of fixing their systems so that
> they don't forge sender email addresses, so I find it rather astounding
> that OpenSRS found a developer clueless enough to create a system that
> forges sender information.
> </rant>
>
> I'm sorry if this seems offensive, but frankly, somebody needs a smack
> upside the head.

I quite literally have no idea what you are talking about. Headers below
from an email confirmation I just received. There might be a problem
here that we can fix but without getting details from you, I've got
nothing to go on. In the meantime, the same developer that wrote the
initial version of OpenSRS will continue down the road with the next
release of Blogware. Drop me a note with some details and I'll see what
I can do to fix the problem for you.

-------- Original Message --------
From: - Fri Jun 11 10:25:26 2004
X-Mozilla-Status: 0001
X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000
Return-Path: <blogware@elrond.vpop.net>
Received: from [216.40.36.35] (HELO c1m3.emaildefenseservice.com) by
fr4.webmaillogin.com (CommuniGate Pro SMTP 4.2b5) with SMTP id 1538380
for ross@tucows.com; Fri, 11 Jun 2004 10:25:26 -0400
Received: from elrond.vpop.net [207.178.248.9] (EHLO elrond.vpop.net) by
c1m3.emaildefenseservice.com (mxl_mta-1.3.7-29) with ESMTP id
9c0c9c04.6005.117.c1m3; Fri, 11 Jun 2004 10:25:13 -0400 (EDT)
Received: by elrond.vpop.net (Postfix, from userid 1003) id 3B19C50A41;
Fri, 11 Jun 2004 07:25:22 -0700 (PDT)
To: ross@tucows.com
From: Post-via-email
<moblog-confirm.geF7mKaogF7jF.5.86407@moblog-confirm.blogware.com>
Subject: Blogware post-via-email confirmation required
Message-Id: <20040611142522.3B19C50A41@elrond.vpop.net>
Date: Fri, 11 Jun 2004 07:25:22 -0700 (PDT)
X-MX-Spam: final=0.1458461365; heur=0.5000000000(600);
stat=0.1458461365; spamtraq-heur=0.5000000000(2004061011)
X-MX-MAIL-FROM: <blogware@elrond.vpop.net>
X-MX-SOURCE-IP: [207.178.248.9]

A post has been received via email for blog Random Bytes. Confirmation
is required before publishing the post. You may reply to this message
to confirm the entry, or view the pending entry at the following url:

http://www.blogware.com/admin/index.cgi/cmd=edit_article/id=86407/blog_id=5

-- 

-rwr

"Don't be too timid and squeamish about your actions. All life is an experiment. The more experiments you make the better." - Ralph Waldo Emerson

Got Blog? http://www.blogware.com My Blogware: http://www.byte.org



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Oct 19 2004 - 23:37:57 EDT