wsmdomains???? WTF?

From: Jeremy Kinsey (jer@mia.net)
Date: Mon Nov 29 2004 - 12:35:24 EST


Is this an acceptable practice for OpenSRS resellers????????

<SNIP>
        From: domainsupport@wsmdomains.com
        Date: November 24, 2004 10:26:33 PM CST
        Subject: 5 Day Domain Deactivation Notice - WSM Domains 2004-11-29
        To: dns-admin@mia.net
        Reply-To: domainsupport@wsmdomains.com
        Return-Path:
        <40090867.0.24Nov2004232633-osrs-resellers-2033@mp.opensrs.net>
        Received: from hrs-mx2.registrarmail.net (216.40.35.66) by
mail.mia.net with ESMTP (Eudora Internet Mail Server 3.2.4) for
<dns-admin@mia.net>; Wed, 24 Nov 2004 22:27:03 -0600
        Received: from mp.opensrs.net ([216.40.33.45]) by
hrs-mx2.registrarmail.net with esmtp (Exim 3.36 #1 (Debian)) id
1CXBDj-0003NJ-06 for <dns-admin@mia.net>; Wed, 24 Nov 2004 23:27:03
-0500
        Received: (from popensrs@localhost) by mp.opensrs.net (8.9.3/8.9.3)
id XAA21021; Wed, 24 Nov 2004 23:26:33 -0500
        Message-Id:
        <40090867.0.24Nov2004232633-osrs-resellers-2033@mp.opensrs.net>
        X-Osrs-Id: osrs-resellers-2033
        Status: R

    ----------------------------------------------
   5 - D A Y - D E A C T I V A T I O N - N O T I C E
    ----------------------------------------------

Your domain will be deactivated in 5 days. We have sent you three
renewal reminders.

The following domain name(s) will expire in 5 days:

Domain Name, Expiry Date
dsl-one.com, 2004-11-29

The cost of renewals are $15.00 per year.
</SNIP>

I assume others have seen this crap, and it has likely been discussed
on the list in the past, though I do not remember seeing it. What is
the deal with this wsmdomains.com? It appears they just register
variants of other peoples domains then send our renewal notices like we
are friggin idiots and will just renew them.

This is FRAUD. Clear and simple FRAUD!!! Beyond this, how legal is it
for someone to steal our identity? They are registering these domains
with our contact info. Lovely.

Again, wsmdomains.com appears to be an opensrs reseller. I would
suggest that the powers that be 86 these morons.

Regards,
Jeremy Anthony Kinsey
  e-mail: jer@mia.net
________________________________________________________
Bella Mia, Inc. www.mia.net
401 Host Drive www.dslone.com
Lake Geneva, WI. 53147 www.hostdrive.com
Phone: (262)248-6759 www.bella-mia.com
Fax: (262)248-6959 www.thednsplace.com



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Tue Nov 30 2004 - 23:00:02 EST