On Jan 10, 2005, at 4:57 AM, Nick Wilsdon wrote:
> Hi all,
>
> I have one client who (as they do) completely forgot that they had
> bought their domain through us and then subsequently paid the 'this
> looks like an invoice' letter from the DRoA.
>
> He is now very upset that the domain has been 'hijacked' - is there
> anything he/I can do? I assume the cheque has been cashed.
>
>
As it concerns DROA:
1. Create DNS records for all their domains and point them to a page
like this: http://www.mia.net/domains/domainregamer/
2. Dispute charges with CC company, cancel check, etc..
Number one will keep customers that are connected to your network, ie.,
looking at your DNS from every dealing with these idiots.
Number two is what your customer can do.
Finally I would urge everyone that is on this list to create zone files
on your DNS servers re-directing all droa.com request to a page like
this: http://www.mia.net/domains/domainregamer/
I have a list of the various DROA.Com domains. There are a bunch. For
each one I have created a zone file on our dns servers and pointed http
requests to a vhost on our servers telling people to "BEWARE".
Here is the output from our droa.com pages:
<SNIP>
WARNING!
A company calling itself Domain Registry of America has been sending
out letters to all of our Domain Customers misleading them in to
believing that their domain registrations must be renewed through the
Domain Registry of America. This is a SCAM!
To register your domains, or renew them, please visit the register that
you purchased your domain through here: www.thednsplace.com
If you have any other question, please contact us at:
dns-amdin@thednsplace.com
</SNIP>
The hell of this is, DROA is not even an American Company, though they
pose as one.
JUST AN FYI... Their letters have NEVER CHANGED. They still look like
they did on day one!
Regards,
Jeremy Anthony Kinsey
e-mail: jer@mia.net
________________________________________________________
Bella Mia, Inc. www.mia.net
401 Host Drive www.dslone.com
Lake Geneva, WI. 53147 www.hostdrive.com
Phone: (262)248-6759 www.bella-mia.com
Fax: (262)248-6959 www.thednsplace.com
This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.3 : Mon Jan 31 2005 - 23:00:01 EST